Are new Macbook Pro devices coming with High Sierra?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by steve60549, Sep 30, 2017.

  1. steve60549 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    #1
    Are new Macbook Pro orders already coming with High Sierra preinstalled? I wonder if there is any way to find out based on the serial on the box.

    Will powerbookmedic spit out the right macOS version based on the serial number or is this just a guess?
     
  2. sparkie7 macrumors 68020

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #2
    From 's website.... thank me later :D:D

    https://www.apple.com/au/macbook-pro/specs/

    Operating System
    macOS High Sierra
     
  3. steve60549 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    #3
    There are still a lot of boxes out there with 10.12 preinstalled. Anybody received a unit with High Sierra preinstalled?
     
  4. Guacamole macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    #4
    Not me. I just bought it on Sunday and it didn’t
     
  5. sparkie7 macrumors 68020

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #5
    Easy enough to download it, its free
     
  6. Mortis360 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Location:
    Norway
    #6
    I would guess it takes a turnover period of atleast a month before we'll see machines with High Sierra, since there probably is many machines out in stores and so on that were produced before High Sierra. I would guess BTO orders might get High Sierra now.
     
  7. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #7
    What is this obsession with the OS the machine comes with?? Its an hour to update (tops) on a decent internet connection yet there are endless threads asking about this.

    Just buy the machine and update yourself, if you are prepared to wait weeks for a machine with it installed already why wouldn't you just wait an hour to update it yourself, completely illogical.
     
  8. steve60549, Oct 3, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2017

    steve60549 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    #8
    You are right, update is no problem, of course. However, you are buying a machine with outdated firmware and every time you run macOS Recovery over the Internet it is going to install Sierra, even a year from now. Quite a hassle if you do this a lot (which, of course, does not apply to most people). macOS Recovery over the Internet is a great feature and I totally hate getting the old OS and having to go through the update process every time I do this.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 3, 2017 ---
    Would you mind entering your serial number at powerbookmedic (http://www.powerbookmedic.com/identify-mac-serial.php) and checking which OS they say? If they say Sierra, maybe they even get this correct and would be a reliable source of checking the serial before buying. Confirmation with another purchase with High Sierra would of course be needed.
     
  9. ggggggmmmmm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2017
    #9
    Is there a way to downgrade the new ones to Sierra? I want to buy a MBP in 2 weeks and use it with a eGPU with an nVidia gfx card. Not looking good with High Sierra :(
     
  10. jerryk macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #10
    Maybe you should swap out your NVidia card for a Radeon 580. For better or worse Apple has aligned itself with AMD. Using NVidia means you will end up having to wait for NVidia to ship drivers after each OS update.

    Unfortunately the work I do (machine learning) is not well supported on AMD GPUs, so I do not see adding a eGPU to my MBP in the near term. I will use the MBP for basic tasks, and use Windows or Linux boxes for the more computational intensive work.
     
  11. Yeahyeahyeah123 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    #11
    That's incorrect. I just did the internet recovery yesterday for a clean install on my 2010 MBP and High Sierra was the default OS.
     
  12. redheeler macrumors 604

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #12
    Make a bootable USB installer with whatever is the latest OS then. Works on any supported Mac and won't require another download every time you decide to install.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 4, 2017 ---
    I don't think the serial number includes any info about the software preinstalled; only hardware configuration, manufacture date + location. Meaning that site would only display the OS your model came with at launch, which is MacOS Sierra.
     
  13. ggggggmmmmm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2017
    #13
    No, what I use it for requires nVidia and cuda.
     
  14. jerryk, Oct 4, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2017

    jerryk macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #14
    Sounds like we have the same problem.
     
  15. steve60549 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    #15
    Great point, thanks! Apparently, it makes a difference whether you just press Command-R or Option-Command-R.
    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204904
     

Share This Page

14 September 30, 2017