Are rMBP with 10.8.4 faster?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Ultra AleM, Jun 5, 2013.

  1. Ultra AleM macrumors 6502a

    Ultra AleM

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Location:
    Italy
    #1
    Did they improve the laggy UI and stuff?

    Thanks
     
  2. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #2
    No, resizing the App Store is still extremely laggy.
     
  3. Ultra AleM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Ultra AleM

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Location:
    Italy
    #3
    I still ask myself why did they choose to launch a laggy notebook. They never did. I mean, it is powerful, but the lag is annoying. It costed over 2.000...
     
  4. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #4
    Well, given that the only laggy thing on mine is resizing the App Store I can live with it :D
     
  5. jafingi macrumors 65816

    jafingi

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Denmark
    #5
    App Store and iTunes Store are just so incredibly bad coded... Hope they'll soon get that fixed! Also lags on my 2011 iMac.

    They can make it run so smooth on iPad and iPhone... Why not the multiple times faster rMBP, iMac etc?
     
  6. Ultra AleM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Ultra AleM

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Location:
    Italy
    #6
    Other windows such as safari are laggy too
     
  7. peejack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #7
    I agree they do need to address the lad more, but hopefully they are working on it, and maybe 10.9 will see a significant improvement.

    I don't think the hardware is to blame though, it's more than likely a software thing. Its more a case of the software wasn't ready for the hardware rather than the hardware not being sufficient.

    They really should have made more in roads to the problem by now though.
     
  8. Ricanlegend macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Location:
    Bronx,Ny
    #8
    use webkit nightly if you having lag in safarI
     
  9. devilcm3 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Location:
    South Melbourne, Australia
    #9
    or firefox, or chrome :p

    i don't hate safari, but i don't use it either due to many extensions that i use on chrome and firefox are not available in safari.
     
  10. peejack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #10
    How do you know this? Are you a coder? Have you looked at the code?
     
  11. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #11
    Well, you don't have to be a coder, just try resizing the App Store window to see the problem ;) There is no way this is the best Apple software engineers can do. In the nutshell: it looks as if they are recomputing/redrawing the layout way to often during the resize operation.
     
  12. jafingi macrumors 65816

    jafingi

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Denmark
    #12
    Yes, actually I work as a developer.

    No, I haven't looked at the code, but having an application in 2013 with this powerful hardware and not being able to resize a window properly is signs of something not made very well!

    Even the first iPhone with 1/100 the horsepower was smoother than this.

    Yes, maybe the redrawing is a problem. But take a look at responsive websites that also are redrawn during window resize. They are much much more smoother.

    And if they aren't good enough to make it run smooth, then just redraw it once the resize is done (like the iPad does when going from portrait to landscape mode). But I don't think that is acceptable in "the most powerful operating system" in 2013.

    Resizing a window should simply just work! If it doesn't, the developers on Apple should work day and night to get that crap sorted out.
     
  13. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #13
    I think the problem with AppStore and iTunes is partly due to how slow the servers are, even on a faster internet, even software update is slow.
     
  14. Michaelgtrusa macrumors 604

    Michaelgtrusa

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Everywhere And Nowhere
    #14
    I was led to believe it was more of a gpu issue than software. When it was launched, ticking a few options boxes could take the price to over $3.500 US.
     

Share This Page