Are there any benches yet on the Mac pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Zellio, Aug 13, 2013.

  1. Zellio macrumors 65816

    Zellio

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #1
    Specifically over-clocking benches? Speed as well as current temps?

    This is how anybody with knowledge of heat works does their case cooling to begin with. You get a custom case (Like a cooler master), and only the fans at the bottom blow into the machine. The ones at the top blow outward and upward. The result is usually extremely good temps, since heat rises and you basically blow the heat upward and outward.
     
  2. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
  3. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
  4. Zellio thread starter macrumors 65816

    Zellio

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #4
    The one that's unreleased... duh?

    ----------

    Yes it will..

    Plus, I already did look :(
     
  5. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #5
    Right..... :confused:
     
  6. Zellio thread starter macrumors 65816

    Zellio

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #6
    You have seen the circular Mac Pro right??

    Anyways, there's no benches currently on overclocking, or even cooling yet. Just talks of new air flow system. Yeah, that's great, but it would be nice to see temps..
     
  7. SadChief macrumors regular

    SadChief

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Location:
    Montpellier, France
    #7
    Go here for a Cylinder Mac Pro probable processor review (based on an early engineering sample Xeon E5-2697 V2).
     
  8. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #8
    Temps? How are you going to find benchmarks of temperatures with the new cooling system when the product has not been released or reviewed?
     
  9. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
  10. tamvly macrumors 6502a

    tamvly

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    #10
    Seriously? You really expect to see benchmarks on a machine which no one outside of Apple has access to without HUGE non-disclosure documents?
     
  11. Zellio thread starter macrumors 65816

    Zellio

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #11
    You may not be familiar with new hardware releases, but on the pc side we get benches all the time from hardware that hasn't been released. Conroe had benches before it was released (Conroe was the code name of Intels Core 2 Duo). AMD also released benches of things like the Phenom 2 and Bulldozer (Which turned out to be a huge lie).
     
  12. tamvly macrumors 6502a

    tamvly

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    #12
    After thirty years as a software engineer and engineering executive with a focus on computer systems performance, I'd say I'm familiar with benchmarks on just about everything from IBM mainframes to PCs.

    The fact that benchmarks exist on other machines has nothing to do with Apple, particularly since no one outside of Apple knows what processors will be used. Feel free to guess, as many people do.

    Then there's the question of what benchmarks actually show - a debate that has been raging since I first started building and running them many, many moons ago.

    If you cool your jets you'll get all the benchmarks you want a few days after they ship.
     
  13. violst macrumors 6502

    violst

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #13
  14. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #14
  15. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #15
    For whatever reason, the scores shown in that link are 32-bit scores. We all know that the native 64-bit scores would be higher.

    Lou
     
  16. violst macrumors 6502

    violst

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #16
    He also asked for speed and thats what geekbench shows!
     
  17. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #17
    How useful gb is as a CPU benchmark is another discussion altogether ;)
     
  18. spaz8 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    #18
    Adobe really needs to work on their multi-threading. You see why the HEX was always the mac to get, unless you do tons of rendering in apps that scale well.

    And is there really nothing better than geekbench, or newer versions? The 64bit model being based on Pentium 4, and the 32 bit older still.

    I have often wondered what the max TDP the nMP could support would be. I think 150W is off the table. The 2x 12 cores are the 2695v2 and 2697v2 are 115w and 130w which are clues. There seems to be an assumption that the 2.7 ghz 130w version will be featured, is that known? If the max is only 115 TDP then there are at least 5 E5 v2 skews that will not be possible. The E5 2680 v2 is still there :) but not the 2690 v2 :(.
     
  19. chris.k macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Location:
    YSSY
    #19
    I'm having fun reading some other macrumours posts, like

    "Hey! you guys know what a filesystem is? Its where you can see your files and stuff.! I cant believe you guys have never heard of a file system before!"

    "You guys seen this Android thing yet? It's a different program like iOS for iPhone! I cant believe you guys haven't heard of Android Before!"
     
  20. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #20
    Do you have links to those threads?
     

Share This Page