Are they ever gonna fix 3.1.3?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by snowboarder, Mar 14, 2010.

  1. snowboarder macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #1
    It screwed up my perfectly working 3GS - crashes, battery going crazy,
    indicator jumping randomly and most of all - missing calls.
    Apple replaced the phone, how does it make any sense to them
    to replace a perfect phone rather than fixing the OS? Well now everything
    is here again - crashes, battery going crazy etc.
    I was perfectly happy with my iPhone, now I'm seriously losing confidence
    they now what they are doing. Update the OS, please!
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    Try a restore.
    That's not the case with every 3GS on 3.1.3
    Try not to restore from backup.
     
  3. anjinha macrumors 604

    anjinha

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3
    I've never had any problems with 3.1.3 and you're the first person I heard that's having trouble with it.
     
  4. goobot macrumors 603

    goobot

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    long island NY
  5. saccento macrumors 6502a

    saccento

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5
    like everyone said- do a restore. it does wonders.. and virtually saves everything if you backup before!

    as for another update.. i think we'll see a 4.0 rather than a 3.1.4
     
  6. gigapocket1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #6
    Yeah do a restore. Something is obviously wrong with the backup if your having the same problem on both devices... I don't think we will see 3.1.4.. But probably 3.2 around the launch of the ipad
     
  7. Xibalba macrumors 6502

    Xibalba

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    #7
    Agree - try a restore as everyone else has mentioned.

    Sorry to hear you are having trouble...
     
  8. ozzyman500 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    #8
    I've never had problems with it. The only thing I noticed is when I go to power off my phone and then it does this weird thing with the lock screen with a circle thing on it and then it shuts off after that. But other than that no problems.
     
  9. bjb.butler macrumors 6502a

    bjb.butler

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Location:
    Southern California
    #9
    I haven't heard of people complaining about 3.1.3.... Maybe you should try a restore?
     
  10. acfusion29 macrumors 68040

    acfusion29

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #10
    the day people try restoring is the day people use common sense.

    won't happen. :eek:
     
  11. synagence macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #11
    I'm having similar difficulties ... gonna try the restore option but i hate not restoring from backup as i'll lose progress in several games which is just a pain plus losing all sms messages etc is a pain
     
  12. spacemnspiff macrumors 6502

    spacemnspiff

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Location:
    MD
    #12
    Quick question, do people mean restore from backup or restore as a new phone?

    Restoring as a new phone will erase all the personal data, would you then sync to get all your data back? Thx.
     
  13. BergerFan macrumors 68020

    BergerFan

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    Mos Eisley
    #13
    That's what I need to know, as I've always restored from a backup.
    If you do a fresh restore, how can you get all your texts, email, notes etc back?
     
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    You cant get your texts back.
    You can sync your contacts back if you have them saved on your computer thru address book synced thru itunes and your email accounts thru outlook or thru another program on the particular computer.
     
  15. jeffreydennis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    #15
    To fix something it has to happen in more than one or two instances. In case you are not familiar with the concept, nothing is perfect. My 3.1.3 install works great. Faster (I think), and better battery (I know). Perhaps the problem is on your end and not the version, just a thought.
     

Share This Page