Are you getting Spore?

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by ajvizzgamer101, Aug 16, 2008.

  1. ajvizzgamer101 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #1
    Well I had a camera a while ago, then it was either lost or stolen so for my birthday instead of getting Madden 09 I got a new camera. Which really hurts because I don't have enough money for Spore and Madden 09. I thought it through and I am getting Spore over Madden 09. :cool:

    Spore is going to be fantastic! I have been playing with the demo creature creator and have been looking at people's creative creatures on sporepedia. It's like looking at "Check Mii Out Channel" on Wii.
     
  2. kaltsasa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Kellogg IA
    #2
    Short answer: Yes
    Long answer: I've put in a couple days off of vacation in September when I get it.

    P.S. Madden has been the same game for the past 10 years, you've got one you've got them all. I swear E.A. thinks Madden is pokemon, gotta catchum all.
     
  3. MisterEd macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    #3
    Short answer: YES

    Long answer: Yes but not until I can upgrage from this MacBook to a MBP :(

    Ed
     
  4. nintendude macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    MD
    #4
    Duh YEA!

    I hope that you dont need to have the CD in the superdrive while playin!
     
  5. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #5
    No.
     
  6. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #6
    Not sure. Definitely won't get it right away. I still don't know what the game is about, what the goals are etc.

    And a definite no if it doesn't come out on Steam.
     
  7. Chone macrumors 65816

    Chone

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #7
    I definitely am, I'm getting it for Windows though.
     
  8. palebluedot macrumors 6502a

    palebluedot

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #8
    It's a hybrid disc. Will run on Mac and Windows. Why would you guys play it in Windows when you can play it in Mac just as well? Do you ENJOY dual booting? :p
     
  9. Hawkeye411 macrumors 68000

    Hawkeye411

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Canada EH!!!
  10. Chone macrumors 65816

    Chone

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #10
    That's pretty nice to know actually (the hybrid disc) but the thing is, it won't run the same on Mac as it will on Windows, no game I have ever tried has (not even games made by the gods of development, Blizzard, which develop their games simultaneously for the 2 platforms, I'm certainly not going to trust a Cider game published by EA :rolleyes:).

    That aside, my Mac only has a measly 7300GT (for the moment) so I'd have to play it on my PC anyways :p
     
  11. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #11
    I definitely will, though it's a toss between running it under Windows or Leopard.
     
  12. ghall macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #12
    Hell yeah. I have the creature creator and it's pretty sweet, I can't wait to play the full game.
     
  13. Yvan256 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #13
    No.

    1. Uses SecuROM for the Windows version, and I have heard the company is busy developing SecuROM for Mac OS X as well. I don't want a game to mess up my system.
    2. It's not really a Mac version nor a Mac port, it's a Windows version squeezed through Cider, meaning it will run extremely poorly.
    3. Cider doesn't seem to support GMA950 (or at least Spore), meaning all intel Mac minis and pre-latest revision of MacBooks won't be able to run it.

    Spore does look like a nice game, but I have no choice to pass on it.
     
  14. it5five macrumors 65816

    it5five

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    New York
    #14
    I'd like to, but I have an older MacBook, so my graphics card makes it impossible. Interestingly enough, though, the GMA 950 is supported under Windows. So once I get a bigger hard drive so I have room to install Windows through Boot Camp and actually get around to purchasing a copy of XP, I'll probably buy Spore.

    It's a shame too, because I was really looking forward to the game. It's probably better for me to not be able to play it though since I'm going to have a busy semester at school.
     
  15. bbbensen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    #15
    The day it comes out!

    But Im unsure if Ill install it under Leopard or XP......
     
  16. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #16
    If I get an ounce extra performance then yes. I've paid money for my computer and I want to get the best out of it.
     
  17. Podgie macrumors newbie

    Podgie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #17
    Nope. The darn game wont run on my macbook. (2.1GHZ 1gb ram) :( If I upgrades to maybe 2 or 4 GB of ram would it work? or is it the macbooks graphic card....?
     
  18. Xander562 macrumors 68000

    Xander562

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #18
    Same here, good to know I won't have to decide before I buy. I don't have as high of hopes for this game as I did for the Orange Box lets say but I think it'll still be well worth it.

    I was put off by the half-assed creature creator though. Paying for the full version?! Heck no...
     
  19. bobber205 macrumors 68020

    bobber205

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #19
    I want to but I'll have Tales of Vesperia and soon to be Warhammer to play....
     
  20. iwuzbord macrumors 6502

    iwuzbord

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    New York City
    #20
    its a life simulation game. not like the sims though. you make your own creature, and try and help it survive in a world. look here

    its very cool
    and
    OF COURSE IM GETTING IT!
     
  21. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #21
    Got it on pre-order. Will most likely play on Windows though as I don't want to fill my Mac partitions up with crap. I do the important stuff on the Mac and leave the pointless stuff to the PC side :).
     
  22. Avro macrumors regular

    Avro

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
  23. liptonlover macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #23
    It's kind of like a creature-evolution based civilization that is in the spirit of modern gaming, meaning there is lots of room for creativity on the user's part. You know, it's "open". Designing your own creatures and vehicles, everything about it is creativity waiting to happen. Besides that, it has great graphics, looks like the gameplay is done well, and is a huge game. Just the creature creator took FOREVER to download, and it wasn't traffic because I waited a while before downloading it.

    Oh yeah... and I'm definitely getting it. My bday is Sept. 24th, lucky me!
     
  24. nagromme macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #24
    Yes, but not until I get bored with Quake Wars which could be a while :)

    And if UT3 shows up this fall (and/or Gears of War and/or Starcraft 3) I'll have a REAL problem. Technically I can afford them all in money... but not in time!
     
  25. nintendude macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    MD
    #25
    Starcraft 3 definitely isn't gonna be released this year
     

Share This Page