Are you happy with Dr. Bott?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Steven Jackson, Feb 18, 2010.

  1. Steven Jackson macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Location:
    Lincoln, U.K.
    #1
    Hi,

    I will be taking delivery of a Dr. Bott unit tomorrow, in order to play my Xbox 360 on my 27" iMac. I have been reading (and posting in) the massive thread on this subject and am starting to worry that I've just thrown £126 down the drain...

    I'd like to know whether anyone here is using Dr. Bott for this purpose and is happy with the results... Hope so...

    Steve.
     
  2. joeeey macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #2
    I use mine for my Xbox360 and it works fine!
     
  3. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    Whilst I cannot speak specifically to this particular product, over the years we've purchased 3 DVI->ADC convertors in order to use the old enormous 23" Apple LCDs (circa 2002) with more modern Macs. All the LCDs still work and all the Dr. Bott convertors still work.
     
  4. avihappy macrumors 6502

    avihappy

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #4
    Yes, it worked very well for me! The only problem is that sometimes the iMac doesn't pick up the Xbox when I press CMD+F2, and so I have to press CMD+F2 a second time (at which point it works). I felt like I was doing 10 times better in MW2 playing on my iMac than when I was playing on my TV. Sadly, I had to exchange my iMac (yellow tinge) and I have to use the TV till my replacement comes. The only thing I didn't like about the Dr Bott was that it is limited to 720p (no problem for games) and that super bright led on the side.
     
  5. Steven Jackson thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Location:
    Lincoln, U.K.
    #5
    Just received mine and I have to say it's better than I was expecting...

    For no particular reason I was expecting a rather shabby knock-off piece of kit. That couldn't be further from the truth - very nicely packaged and very well built. Most importantly, it works faultlessly.

    I am very impressed.

    Steve.
     
  6. Bitwise macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    I <3 Dr. Bott. I have my Xbox 360 hooked up to my i7 and everything works flawlessly. Audio and video are in perfect sequence, AND I can use my studio monitors rather than the internal speakers :)
     
  7. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #7
    +1 for Dr. Bott. I've bought products from them and their service is top notch along with the products they sell. They are at every Macworld show each year and are generally packed with customers waiting line to buy stuff.
     
  8. NATO macrumors 68000

    NATO

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #8
    I've one of these being delivered tomorrow, I was wondering if anyone who has one could tell me how long the supplied HDMI and MiniDisplayPort cables are?
     
  9. Steven Jackson thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Location:
    Lincoln, U.K.
    #9
    Quite short. Less than a metre each. Exactly what I wanted, but YMMV.

    Steve.
     
  10. NATO macrumors 68000

    NATO

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #10
    Thanks, I suspected as much. I'll have to go grab a 3m one but at least I don't have to wait until I open the box to discover that :)
     
  11. oshanoosie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    #11
    Can one of the UK guys post a link to where they bought this? I want to get one for my PS3 but for the life of me can't find a UK stockist. Thanks
     
  12. NATO macrumors 68000

    NATO

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #12
    I ordered mine from www.puremac.de (via Amazon Marketplace but you can order direct from their site). It was shipped by UPS the following day and arrived a few days later. Just installed it last night and it works 100% with my Xbox 360.
     
  13. oshanoosie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    #13
    Thanks - out of stock both on Amazon and Puremac but will keep an eye out. Strange there doesn't seem to be a UK supplier, there's clearly a demand.
     
  14. Philanthromac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    #14

    Also bought mine on puremac around 5 days ago (from amazon) UPS delivered yesterday.

    Not got it working with my PS3 yet, but that's the PS3's fault, not the Dr Bott. I'll update when I have it working.
     
  15. mr.thedaniel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    #15
    just got mine and it works great, and if you do have any problems, they have great customer service!
     
  16. wilko251088 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #16
    hi can anyone tell me where they ordered this item from for delivery to the uk if any one has?, plus what the power supply plug is and if anyone has used it in the uk or used a plug adapter to fit the standard uk 3 pin plug

    thanks

    mike
     
  17. LindseyDarragh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    #17
    how?

    Ok so I read all of the great reviews for Dr. bott and now mine is finally here and I set everything up only to find that command F2 accomplishes absolutely nothing. It doesnt work. And when I called Customer support the tech guy told me that the product is designed for ps3 and they dont know if it works with xbox???? I am getting super frustrated. It is in 720 p mode and I watched a youtube video to make sure that everything is connected correctly and it appears to be. Help?!
     
  18. I oO AL3X Oo I macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #18
    hi guys i've recently bought this from amazon too but im having trouble getting this to work. 1st problem i have is that command f2 doesn't seem to be doing anything.Could it be that its using a EU plug?

    what im using:27" i7 imac,xbox 360

    i would be really grateful for any advise given :eek:
     

Share This Page