Arrangement of RAM

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by inigel, Mar 18, 2008.

  1. inigel macrumors regular

    inigel

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    A mate of mine had a look at the RAM configuration of my Mac Pro (4x2GB, 2x1GB), telling me it was completely wrong. After the argument we had I decided to take a look at the Apple manual and see what they recommended and I think I followed the instructions right.

    http://idisk.mac.com/barra_240t/Public/dimm_diagram.png

    There is a diagram of my interpretation, have I followed the instructions properly or is my mate being a know-it-all?
     
  2. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
  3. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
  4. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
  5. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #5
    Looks about right given what configurations other people
    here have used. I wonder if this is ok too:

    dimms.png

    What confuses me is where the FB-DIMMs can be paired.
    In your diagram it looks like you're pairing on the same
    riser, but the new MPs come with 2 FB-DIMMS paired
    across different risers.
     
  6. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
  7. inigel thread starter macrumors regular

    inigel

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
  8. inigel thread starter macrumors regular

    inigel

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    Excellent. :D

    EDIT: Thanks everyone for your contribution on clearing up this matter.
     
  9. krye macrumors 68000

    krye

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    No, that's bad, the 1G chips have to be installed in pairs. The original image is the correct one.
     
  10. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #10
    What about this?

    If it's wrong, can someone explain to me why? Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. GotPro macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    #11
    This is exactly how the Apple Store Genius Bar told me to install it.

    [Edit: I had to lug my beast down to the Apple Store Genius Bar to get my bad Stock Apple Ram replaced under warranty]
     
  12. bigbird macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #12
    The 2GB sticks should be installed as matched pairs. That means put the 2GB sticks in Risers A & B, slots 1 & 2. Place the 1GB sticks in Riser A slots 3 & 4. The Genius Bar guy is wrong on this one.
     
  13. dgdosen macrumors 65816

    dgdosen

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #13
    Page 44 of the "Everything Mac" booklet that comes along with the Mac Pro explains this, pretty clearly in my eyes.

    Why are there so many threads on this issue? Is it the "ordering" of the pairs of memory that is questionable to some?
     
  14. macz1 macrumors 6502

    macz1

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #15
    If I remember correctly there are some slight differences between the original and the 2008 Mac Pro concerning the memory configuration.

    For the 2008 model, If you add a pair of RAM modules, you have to put the two modules on the same riser.

    The only exception is the default config with only two modules in total
     
  15. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #16
    I think what's lacking for me is an understanding of why it has to
    be that way. At the moment it's a case of reading this person saying
    this thing, that person saying that, and sort of guessing who is
    most credible. So I'm going to Google a bit and see if I can find
    out how these memory controllers actually work, so I can reason
    from first principles, so to speak.
     
  16. Soop53 macrumors regular

    Soop53

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #17
    This link pretty much answers any question!;)
     
  17. Mac-HD macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #18
    I read here that the system is faster if all slots are filled (7.5 opposed to 6.8). In other words, 8x1GB is better than 4X2GB. With that in mind, I wanted to put 12 GB - 4x2GB and 4x1GB. The question is - if I buy 4x2GB and 2x1GB from OWC, will that work with the the 2x1GB that Apple ships out?
     
  18. Soop53 macrumors regular

    Soop53

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #19
    It is my understanding it will as long as everything is paired up. Look at the link above
     
  19. deathshrub macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Christmas Island
    #20
    Yes, it will.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Meep macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #21
    Hang on when i got my Mac Pro last week (BTO from Apple) the standard 2GB came it came with was configured with 1GB stick on each riser.

    Is that wrong? i just assumed as that was the way it came that that is the way it should stay. Should i have both sticks on riser a and leave riser b empty? (I will be getting more RAM when i have a bit of spare money....)
     
  21. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #22
    No, having just two sticks is a special case where it is optimal to have the sticls on different risers. Once you add ram, then you will change the arrangement.
     
  22. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #23
    What is it that allows that special case to work?
     
  23. Lumpydog macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #24
    NO! For Early 2008 Mac Pros, this diagram is WRONG. The diagram available via the "link" is for earlier Mac Pros.

    Case and point - all early 2008 Mac Pros that ship from the factory with 2GB of memory ship with one GB on the top card and one on the bottom. The Early 2008 optimized memory configs are DIFFERENT than earlier models - DO NOT go by this diagram if you have a early 2008 Mac Pro.
     
  24. jazz1 macrumors 65816

    jazz1

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Location:
    Mid-West USA
    #25
    So the linked diagram would be correct for a 2.66 MacPro, right? I ask because that is what I have and the Apple Genius has me keep the 2X512k in riser A and the 2X2GB under them in riser B. That diagram shows the 2X2GB in riser A with the smaller memory below. Would this be better to put the big sticks in riser A then?
     

Share This Page