Article:New MBP running HYBRID SLI ?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by fallen1981, Oct 15, 2008.

  1. fallen1981 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Not terribly surprising but it is interesting. Hopefully this will open up hardware video decoding as well...
     
  3. MatthewAMEL macrumors 6502

    MatthewAMEL

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #3
    Somebody tell Nvidia!!

    From http://www.nvidia.com/object/hybrid_sli_notebook_tech_overview.html

    Hybrid SLI FAQ
    Q: Which OS supports Hybrid SLI?
    A: Hybrid SLI is supported only by Windows Vista. It is not supported with any
    other operating system.

    Outstanding news if it turns out to be true! Next question would be do the provided Boot Camp drivers support HybridSLI?
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    Anyone who is going to do benchmarking isn't going to use the Boot Camp video drivers.
     
  5. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #5
    Hopefully the benchmarks show how much of the standard Apple added, at least they got the easy switching between the two GPUs for battery savings.

    Would be nice to see both GPUs available under Snow Leopard, as long as the A/C is plugged in.
     
  6. MatthewAMEL macrumors 6502

    MatthewAMEL

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #6
    The reason I ask is the NVidia FAQ specifically says that generic drivers will disable HybridSLI. The drivers MUST be provided by the OEM.

    If they are getting those kind of numbers out of the unit, then perhaps they did build in that functionality.
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    Thanks for reminding me about the OEM when it comes to mobile GPUs.

    They are going to have to be custom drivers from Apple then.
     

Share This Page