As of 11/12, is Leopard preinstalled in new MBP's ?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by macbookprofan07, Nov 12, 2007.

  1. macbookprofan07 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    #1
    As the title says, if you bought a custom MBP (such as a 200 GB 7200 HD and a Hi-Res Screen) at the online apple store (store.apple.com)...

    does it come preinstalled with Leopard?

    Does the restore DVD's have Leopard?

    and did they ever update the MBP desktop w/ Leopard on the shipping box?
     
  2. grame macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #2
    just opened mine. bought on friday and delivered today. leopard preinstalled and on the backup discs. my first mac. is there an introductory guide for new migrating pc users?
     
  3. cjc81 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    Congrats. Looks like you're one of the first few person who received a new MBP with leopard preinstalled.

    Mine came last week with Tiger.
     
  4. ucfgrad93 macrumors P6

    ucfgrad93

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #4
    Welcome to the world of mac. I would recommend starting here:

    http://www.apple.com/support/switch101/

    I hope this helps.
     
  5. grame macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #5
    wow - thanks for that. i'm finding it really weird working my way around it. my installation disk hasn't got the bootcamp folder - when i do a go to folder search in finder as recommended on the apple support site, it says it doesnt exist on the install disk. can it be downloaded anywhere? or do i ring them tomorrow...?

    i got an educational discount on the macbook and applecare - £648 all in. so it's a good deal.
     
  6. Smurfed macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    #6
    When do you think they'll change the pictures in the box.

    It still has it with the Tiger desktop.
     
  7. Cybergypsy macrumors 68040

    Cybergypsy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Central Florida!
    #7
    Mine has leopard :)
     
  8. Smurfed macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    #8
    ;x

    I spoke too soon.
     
  9. macbookprofan07 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    #9
    how much space does it takes up when Leopard & iLife 08 is preinstalled (in gigabytes - GB)?


    Hey Cybergypsy (or anyone), could you post a pic of the updated MBP box w/ the loepard desktop? thanks..
     
  10. cmaier macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #10
    Do a search in the forum. There are at least 6 threads that describe where to find this on the install disk, because for some reason it was left off the hard drive.
     
  11. grame macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #11
    i had to reinstall leopard from the disks in order for bootcamp to appear in the utilities folder - just for reference - as it wasn't where it was supposed to be on the dvd.
     
  12. cmaier macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #12
    It must have been on the DVD in order for a reinstall to put it on your hard drive. If it wasn't in the (oft-cited) location, where was it?
     

Share This Page