ASATA External HD Issue

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by peejer, Dec 29, 2008.

  1. peejer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Location:
    TN
    #1
    I replaced my HD from my MBP (2.16 GHz Intel Core Duo). I can't get this drive (WD 320gb asata 2.5") to work in an external HD enclosure.

    My latest HD is a WD scorpio which I took out of a My Passport external HD. It works great in my MBP, however the one I removed had some issues and it was under warranty. WD was great and replaced this twice without any issues. They even upgraded me to a 320 GB 2.5" ASATA. However I can't get this one to work at all. I have tried it in two separate external HD enclosures. I have used several different cables. I even even tried it on two different computers both a PC and Mac. I have also tried to use a Y usb plug to plug into two separate USB Ports at the same time to try to increase power. The drive doesn't work.

    I would like to use this drive in a USB 2.0 external HD case to use a video scratch disk. Is this possible without an additional power source? Any thoughts why I can't get this to work?

    Thanks,
    peejer
     
  2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #2
    What do you mean by "doesn't work"? The drive doesn't spin up at all?
     
  3. peejer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Location:
    TN
    #3
    Good question and sorry I didn't make this more clear.

    The LED light on the external case will light up, but the drive will not show up on either computer. I took the top of the case to determine if I could hear the drive spin and I could not.

    Is there any chance that the drive isn't getting enough power?
     
  4. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #4
    I don't think it's getting any power at all. My external drive will try to spin up but fail when it's connected with only one cable of the Y-connector to the USB 1.1 ports on my iBook G3. It works fine when both cables, but not with one. However, I do get some activity.

    Have you checked the power cable connecting drive and enclosure?
     
  5. peejer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Location:
    TN

Share This Page