Aspect Ratio issues

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by winblowzxp, May 3, 2008.

  1. winblowzxp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    #1
    Greetings All,



    I'm borrowing a friend's Mac (not sure what model) running 10.4.8. I have it hooked up to my HDTV via a DVI-HDMI cable, resolution 1920x1080i.

    I assume that the OS is using a 16:10 aspect ratio, but my tv is a 16:9 tv and I cannot change that. Is there a way in the OS to change the aspect ratio from my assumed 16:10 to 16:9?
     
  2. soccersquirt82 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #2
    I think to change the resolution, you go to System Preferences, Displays.
     
  3. drewsof07 macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #3
    What is the problem you are experiencing because of this?? stretched images, missing edges, letterbox or what?
     
  4. StealthRider macrumors 65816

    StealthRider

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    Yokosuka, Japan
    #4
    See if you can turn off "overscan" on the display itself - if the output resolution is at 1080i (make sure it's not 1920x1200) then you should be fine.
     
  5. winblowzxp thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    #5
    I have the resolution set at 1920x1080. The issue I'm having is that the bar that goes across the top of the screen is above the edge of my tv. I saw the overscan option, but it just makes the screen fuzzy, so I turned it back on. I know there's a way to fix it in an X11 server, but I've found nothing like that on this machine.
     
  6. drewsof07 macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #6
    The trouble with bigger HDTVs is the edge of the screen isnt exactly the edge of the screen.
     
  7. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #7
    There isn't an "auto-adjust" option to re-align the image so it fills the screen? My tele has an option like that, and it readjusts the image size so it fills the screen, instead of being off the side or cutting bits off etc.

    Also, you are setting the TV as the primary display (don't use mirrored)?
     
  8. winblowzxp thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    #8
    Unfortunately, no. I looked thinking the same thing, but alas I could not find it.
     

Share This Page