Assassin's Creed II now Steamplay

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by bluebomberman, Jan 6, 2011.

  1. bluebomberman macrumors 6502a

    bluebomberman

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Location:
    Queens, NYC
    #1
    I never thought I'd see this day: the first Cider port to get Steamplay!

    This might be the dawn of a new age - or just a one-time thing. The elephant in this room is the ridiculous system requirements for the Mac version, which is a generation above the PC requirements. Sheesh, my new (low-spec) iMac doesn't even match the recommended specs.
     
  2. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #2
    Interesting, this was listed as Steamplay very briefly during the sale, but quickly taken down as an "error." Guess it wasn't quite ready then.

    Actually, I don't think AC2 uses Cider. You would think, because of the awful system requirements.

    I would get this, but I refuse to pay more than $10 for any Ubisoft product because of their DRM. I'll wait for another sale.
     
  3. bluebomberman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bluebomberman

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Location:
    Queens, NYC
    #3
    It's a direct port? *heads off to research*
     
  4. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #4
    Cougarcat: the DRM is gone. Finis. No more.

    Bluebomberman: it was actually temporarily available even before then, and I downloaded it but it crashed on me every time I tried to play. Now that it's officially available I can't actually play it – the game doesn't appear in my library. :(
     
  5. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #5
    It's not completely gone, it still requires a connection to log on.
     
  6. bluebomberman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bluebomberman

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Location:
    Queens, NYC
    #6
    It's a Cider port - Transgaming handles all of Ubisoft's Mac ports. They also sell it on Transgaming's Gametreemac.com store alongside all their other Cider ports of dubious awesomeness.
     
  7. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #7
    To log in, yes, but nothing more than that. If you get disconnected the game won't care. If you turn off your Internet connection the game won't care.
     
  8. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #8
    It's not.
     
  9. bluebomberman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bluebomberman

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Location:
    Queens, NYC
    #9
    Really bizarre situation - it smells like a Cider port (given the steep requirements and Ubisoft's history with Transgaming) but it isn't - and the internal port might actually be worse than anything Transgaming would have done!

    A crappy internal port going Steamplay isn't anything to get excited about. Ugh, I feel stupid for starting this thread and getting my hopes up for, say, Steamplay for Dragon Age: Origins.
     
  10. LaDirection macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    #10
    Please everyone who can afford this, do buy it. While Valve is porting most of their own titles to Mac, very few 3rd party titles of renown has made the journey to us. If we really ourselves behind those that do make it, more and more will come, and companies will spend more on the quality of the ports.
     
  11. bluebomberman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bluebomberman

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Location:
    Queens, NYC
    #11
    Sorry, but I'm not a big enough fan of the Assassin's Creed series to suffer through the steep system requirements. Two things always annoy the heck out of me: being surrounded by enemies who let you pick them one by one in ridiculously lengthy cinematic kills, and the whole present-day "reliving memories" crap.
     
  12. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #12
    Yea no. I'm not buying a game I don't want. Although the more people that buy it now the DRM has been relaxed and that it's on Mac; the better for everyone. AC games are one of the few that are better on consoles for both performance and control setup reasons.
     
  13. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #13
    Fixed my issue with AC2 – now it's downloaded. Still runs extremely well on my system, feels (subjectively) smoother than under Windows 7. It was smooth there too for the most part, except when synchronizing sometimes, but playing under OS X appears to fix that. Bluebomberman: the system requirements may *seem* steep, but it plays pretty much exactly the same under OS X as Windows for me (except for the aforementioned smoother feeling).

    Dagless: I've never played the console versions, but I like the controls for PC (and the performance at higher resolutions :)).
     
  14. rekhyt macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Location:
    Part of the old MR guard.
    #14
    ... o.0 Which Mac do you have? AC2 runs terrible on my MacBook Pro when in Windows. :|
     
  15. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #15
    I first ran it under a 1,1 Mac Pro with a 4890 but now I'm using an i7 hackintosh.
     
  16. bluebomberman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bluebomberman

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Location:
    Queens, NYC
    #16
    Still curious about how well/poorly this runs on Mac - this post isn't promising, though.

    I suspect we'll be hearing conflicting after-action reports for some time.
     
  17. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #17
    ACII for Mac has been out since October, but it was only recently added for Steam. This was a terrible port. I've had better luck with the unofficial cider port of the first game than this travesty. It seems to run fine until you get too much into the game. Furthermore, the keyboard working on a MBP to me is hit or miss. Sometimes it will work, other times it won't even be detected. All depends on the mood the program is in. It does run better if you periodically exit the game and reenter.

    Supposedly, OpenGL hasn't been updated on OS X yet, which is a damn shame as it could make running the game far better on weaker graphics cards and much more equivalent to it's PC counterpart in terms of performance.
     
  18. bluebomberman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bluebomberman

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Location:
    Queens, NYC
    #18
    I wonder if Apple will get more involved with the OpenGL standard the way they have with Webkit. Gaming's such a big part of iOS now, so you'd think they have more at stake here than just a couple of bad game ports.

    All that said, I don't think we'll see OpenGL updated until Lion.

    EDIT: Should've researched that a bit more. iOS uses OpenGL ES, which appears to be on a separate timeline of development as OpenGL. Ugh, all this talk of specs and DirectX and OpenGL reminded me why I abandoned PC gaming for consoles for a few years.
     
  19. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #19
    The 330M isn't a very good card for gaming – besides, the recommended specs are at least a 4850, or what the old high-end iMac had.

    As I said, it runs beautifully for me – about the same as for Windows. I do have above the recommended specs though.

    Sounds like you're having a lot of issues unrelated to AC2. The keyboard always works for me. And as I said, the game plays great.

    rekhyt: the reason it runs terrible is because you have an integrated GPU. You really need at least a 48xx series card to run the game well with all options high.
     
  20. archurban macrumors 6502a

    archurban

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #20
    well, whatever. enjoy the game. I don't play it anymore. I already beat it three times. Mac version has lots of problem, huh? just run bootcamp, play on windows. it's still the best solution. mac converted game is not good at all. somehow, it is worst than console ported version to PC. anyway, AC brotherhood is coming to Feb. 22nd, 2011. be ready.
     
  21. bluebomberman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bluebomberman

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Location:
    Queens, NYC
    #21
    Thanks for telling us all how much *you* don't care. :rolleyes:
     
  22. Xenc macrumors 6502a

    Xenc

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Location:
    London, England
    #22
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-gb) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Assassins Creed 2 is leaps and bounds beyond the first title on all fronts. It was one of the best games of 2009.
     
  23. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #23
    archurban's a troll, I haven't seen him say one positive thing yet.

    Agreed. It fixes a lot of the issues from the first game and introduces neat new features.
     
  24. rekhyt macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Location:
    Part of the old MR guard.
    #24
    ... :eek: :) Lucky! I've fully converted to using a laptop now because I move around quite a lot; Would have built my own Hackintosh as well.

    Don't think Lion will be quite strong on the gaming front; It's mainly a redesigned user experience. However, if Apple were to get really aggressive and pushed OpenGL like they have done with WebKit, then Microsoft would have a problem on their hands.

    However, I think Microsoft could counter by creating a unifying experience, with the Games for Windows/Live Games (Can't remember what it's called; I just use Steam for games on Windows.) and combine it with the xBox Live service, then they'd have a killer service. (Purchase once, play on all platforms. For example: Fable 3 or Bioshock. Or game-saves in the cloud.)

    ... Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4 Ghz + 4GB RAM + nVidia 9600M GT... :\ I have to admit that Apple is quite weak on the hardware front. I might upgrade in the next-next revision.
     
  25. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #25
    Then how is your MacBook white? The white MBs never had the 9600 GT. :confused:
     

Share This Page