Assigned Applications...

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Killerbob, Jul 19, 2018.

  1. Killerbob macrumors 6502a

    Killerbob

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #1
    I have the five iLife (GarageBand, iMovie, Keynote, Numbers, and Pages) applications listed at the top when I check my Account, and I am asked to adopt these. But when I do, I am told that "Could not assign applications to your account"?????

    PS - I am using Mojave.
     
  2. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #2
    Keynote, Pages, and Numbers used to be iWork apps, not iLife apps, but that doesn't affect your question...:cool:

    Is that what you see in those exact words? That you are asked to "adopt" those apps?
    Are ANY of those apps already installed on your Mac? They would be in your Applications folder.
    What exactly are you doing when do you see that message?
    What do you mean by -- Checking your Account? Can you give more details about that?
    Are you in the App Store when that comes up? (I think the Mojave App Store still needs work, and in some ways is not quite ready for prime time, in my opinion)
     
  3. Killerbob thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Killerbob

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #3
    LOL - of course it is iWork...

    The applications are installed on my MacBook Pro, and this happens in Mojave, when I check the App Store, and check “My Account”. At the top are listed the applications, and I am asked to “adopt the applications”. I click Adopt, and I am asked to verify my Apple ID password, and then after a few minutes, I am told that they “could not assign the applications” to my account...
     
  4. hallux macrumors 68030

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #4
    This could be a bug in Mojave, considering it's a beta and all. The app store may not be properly recognized, or the server is not seeing your device as having the factory install on it since you've already done the beta install.
     
  5. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #5
    What language is your system using? I don't see anything about the App Store that offers anything called "Adopt".
    Are you translating "Adopt" from another language? Maybe that is not an accurate interpretation.
    Maybe you mean "Update", or "Install"?

    If you already have those apps, and you simply updated to Mojave on the same Mac where you have already been using any of those apps, then I agree with hallux on this. You might just ignore what the App Store is offering to you.
     
  6. hallux macrumors 68030

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #6
    When you buy a new Mac and didn't previously have a version of the Pages, Numbers, Keynote or Garageband apps registered to your account, you get an "Adopt" button to link those apps to your account so you can reinstall them if you need to wipe the Mac. It seems the OP may not have done that prior to installing the Mojave beta on a new MBP.
     
  7. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #7
    Ah, OK.
    Then, another likely bug. I have noticed several, just in the App Store in Mojave.
     
  8. Killerbob thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Killerbob

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #8
    As you can see on the attached screenshot, the language is English, and the wording exactly like I said; "You Have 5 Apps To Adopt".

    Interesting though, I have had these applications installed on my MacBook for ages, and never seen such a message in Sierra or in High Sierra.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #9
    I apologize for mis-understanding your post, just something that I have not seen (like a lot of other things :D )
    So, this is on the same MacBook that you have had those apps installed, and have used them before you installed the Mojave beta?
    Was this a simple (no erase) install of Mojave, or did you do a full wipe and restore from a backup?
    Same AppleID that you have been using on this same MacBook?
     
  10. Killerbob thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Killerbob

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #10
    This is the same MacBook Pro I have used for Sierra and High Sierra, and which I have now installed Mojave upon. No changes to software, just a simple installation on-top. Same Apple ID as well.

    Unfortunately I am travelling, and have no access to my other Macs, so I can't try it out there. However, I'd be surprised if I had a similar message in Sierra or High Sierra, as then I would have noticed.
     
  11. AKMediaArts macrumors newbie

    AKMediaArts

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2018
    #11
    I'm also having this problem since the last update of Mojave Beta - The first installation didn't give me this error - the only good thing so far is that the apps seem to continue to work. I'm hoping that the error is one that will be fixed.
    I purchased this MacBook last March 2017 - thus it had all of the native apps there
     
  12. Phyruss macrumors newbie

    Phyruss

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2018
    #12
    --- Post Merged, Nov 27, 2018 ---
    I am having the same problem. I purchased a Mac mini with a software bundle preinstalled. I can't update the apps. It wants me to adopt the apps by hitting Accept. But then won't let me accept, tells me to try again later.

    Chatting with Apple support is completely USELESS. 2 hours of my time wasted by apple support who haven't a clue on what they are doing. I was hoping someone else had the same issue and has found a solution.
     
  13. aroman012, Dec 16, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2018

    aroman012 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2018
    #13
    I am also having this problem. I just bought a new Macbook Pro and I have the same 5 pending apps to adopt as in Killerbob's screenshot. Before seeing the adopt message, I changed my apple ID name and lastname (not the apple ID itself). I thought the error was related to this change but after seeing this thread I think it may be just a bug. I also had a chat with Apple support but they weren't able to fix the issue.

    Update: I fixed my issue. I didn't mention it but I changed my apple ID country as well (From US to Peru). It seems like I also needed to switch the store's country. As I read from another source (not sure if links are allowed in this forum), I needed to log out and, instead of logging in again, try to update any app with my account logged out. A message prompted me saying:

    "This Apple ID is only valid for purchases in the Peruvian iTunes Store. You will be switched to that Store."

    After that, I logged in I was able to update the apps. It seems like I also needed to update the app store's country as well, instead of just logging out and in.
     

Share This Page

12 July 19, 2018