Asus eeePC as a temporary laptop substitute?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Bogie, Jan 17, 2008.

  1. Bogie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    #1
    I was considering getting an eeePC to use for the next year or so as my laptop while saving up for the next rev of the MBA or MBP. Would any of you recommend them? what are your impressons? I only need it right now for the Internet, word processing and email.
     
  2. Too Many Toys macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    #2
    I just bought one to play around with. Haven't spent more then 20 minutes with it so far but....

    • The screen is TINY
    • The OS is pretty good
    • It's fast, for what it is

    The rumored (or maybe it's been released by now) 8"-9" screen should make it useable everyday for the average user.

    Just my .02 cents
     
  3. ricgnzlzcr macrumors 6502a

    ricgnzlzcr

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    #3
    I recommend them very much because they're exceptional machines for what they do, but it might not be the best solution for the long term because of the small screen, small hard drive and lack of optical drive. If that doesn't deter you then it could very well work for you but my recommendation would be to pick up a used 12" powerbook around the 400-550 price region which isn't too hard if you look through ebay a couple times a day.
     
  4. Bogie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    #4
    Really? You can get a 12" powerbook that low? I've been watching every so often but they all seem to go for 700-800 and that's just out of my range.
     
  5. wightstraker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    #5
    If you've got the time and skills you can put a full Linux distro on the eeePC; which should make it much more versatile. Xubuntu would be a great lightweight distro.
     
  6. ricgnzlzcr macrumors 6502a

    ricgnzlzcr

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    #6
    Most definitely. I actually picked up a 12" powerbook a couple weeks ago for $450 for my girlfriend on ebay. You just have to know how to look. If you need any help I can explain the search settings I use on ebay if you PM me.
     
  7. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #7
    Its a fine machine, you can always plug it to a external display with large screen and higher resolution.

    It has firefox for internet

    thunderbird for email

    openoffice for documents

    skype for video chat

    Adobe reader 7 for PDF reading

    SMPlayer for video (you can install vlc if you want to, but smplayer is a better option)

    Amarok for music/podcast manager

    GAIM for IM

    tetis, penguin racing, bubble for games
     
  8. apachie2k macrumors 6502

    apachie2k

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    was NYC...now MIAMI
    #8
    i know they will be selling it with windows xp soon :eek:, friend has one, i like it, the screen is small compared to the overall size of the thing, but it is SMALL, and very nice and CHEAP! (in a very good way) especially if your a traveling student!
     
  9. wightstraker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    #9
    So it comes with KDE packages? Can you use kdm, or are you stuck with the stock GUI?
     
  10. Bogie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    #10
    This talk about the 12" powerbook changed my mind. If I can find one for between 400 and 500 I'm buying. Assuming it's in good condition of course.
     
  11. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #11
    KDE is already there, you just need to install two small packages to run full kde desktop. but all I mentioned above are easily run in "EASY MODE"
    http://wiki.eeeuser.com/howto:getkde

     
  12. wightstraker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    #12
    That's fantastic. I've got a sudden itch for an eeePC.
     
  13. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #13
    well, eee forum even has a post about how to run beryl on stock eee.....:D

    ASUS's repo is extremely poor, but if you want to play with it, there are ALOT of options.
     
  14. wightstraker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    #14
    I'd probably install ubuntu just for the repo. Do you have an eeePC?
     
  15. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #15
    yes, i do, you can read more at http://www.eeeuser.com/ about it before making decision. :)
     
  16. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #16
    the Eee looks awesome, and I want one.

    But I already have a MBP and an iPhone, so it will serve no real purpose for me, so I'm telling myself "no."

    ;)
     
  17. em500 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #17
    The Eee is a great secondary computer, but I wouldn't want to use it as my only computer for extended periods (certainly not for a year), mainly due to their very small and low res screen and small storage. I guess it's not too bad if you already have spare USB keyboard, mouse and monitor and external HD lying around.

    If you don't mind Windows too much or have the skills to do your own Linux install, you could consider a ThinkPad X31. There are tons of those on eBay, at around the same price as the Eee, which is cheaper than most PBG4s. They're very good machines, and far less painful to use as a primary computer than the Eee.

    You know the usual story of how well most used Macs hold their values. Well, the flipside is that many used PCs can be had very cheap. Granted, many of those are really junk, but ThinkPads are usually very good.
     
  18. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #18
    i agree you will need a display+a mice if you plan to use it for long period of time. keyboard is fine.
    [​IMG]
     
  19. pr5owner macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    #19
    your best option is to copy the ubuntu ISO to USB flash (there are TONS of how too's)

    boot from USB flash, install ubuntu, and your good to go, 4GB is minimum, but 4 gives you enough to dual boot ubuntu and XP+nlite
     
  20. notjustjay macrumors 603

    notjustjay

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Location:
    Canada, eh?
    #20
    My 12" PB is turning 5 this year and I recently gave it a facelift by upgrading it to a new 120 gig drive, maxed out 1.25 GB RAM and Leopard. (If Leopard turns out to be a mistake, I can always roll back to Tiger, and it would feel even faster).

    I'm impressed by how well it is still holding up. I'm especially impressed by the current resale value (you mean I can STILL fetch $500-700 for this thing?!)
     
  21. Epicurus macrumors 6502

    Epicurus

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #21
    well, I bought an Eee (4G) to bridge the gap between now and when I can finally get a chance to see a MacBook Air in person. My PowerBook has been going strong for more than four years, but the motherboard is finally starting to get iffy, and I no longer trust it. I figure I can float by on the Eee for a few weeks until the Air shows up in stores. If I like the Air, then I'll get one, if not, maybe a MB Pro. I see the Eee as a perfect temp. laptop. I'm not planning on lasting a year on it, but a month or two of light use, maybe. Of course, if I'm blown away by the laptop, I'll just hold off on the MacBook a little longer and build up a little larger cash reserve.

    Once the Eee shows up (in a few days), I'll know better where I stand.
     
  22. Foxglove9 macrumors 65816

    Foxglove9

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #22
    I'm thinking about getting one just to check emails and web surf during my lunch breaks at work. i read that only some models have user changeable ram is that true? Was the 8GB version ever released? It's on Asus's site but don't see it at any online stores.

    Still wish Apple had something like that, just to make syncing everything real easy and simple.
     
  23. ricgnzlzcr macrumors 6502a

    ricgnzlzcr

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    #23
    Only the 2GB version can't have its ram upgraded. I think the 8GB version isn't out yet. I would rather recommend the 4GB with a 16GB SD card.
     

Share This Page