Resolved Asus GTX 750 TI - 2009 Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Ih8reno, Jul 15, 2016.

  1. Ih8reno macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #1
    Hi

    I recently found the aforementioned card locally at a great deal and was thinking of upgrading the PC 5770 card to this. Would this card work plug and play without boot screens of course. It is the version with 2 DVI/1HDMI/1VGA.

    If it would work do I need to install web drivers or anything?

    Thanks!
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    You MUST install and select the web driver before you install the card. Otherwise, no display at all.
     
  3. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #3
  4. Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #4
    Depends on the system version. Here you go: http://www.macvidcards.com/drivers.html

    Note: I have a Gigabyte GTX 750 Ti, now using in a PC. In OS X iTunes could not play movies, and some graphic benchmarks crashed. I do not have this problem with all other cards I own (GT630, GTX 680, GTX 770).

    So you should check first if iTunes works well with the GTX 750 Ti.
     
  5. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #5
    Well I installed the drivers and they are up to date. Only the VGA outputs a picture. The 2 DVI and hdmi do not. I've tried connecting them to various monitors and nothing. Tried moving up and down the graphics card and same result. Anyone have any ideas?
     
  6. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #6
    I found a VGA to hdmi adapter and the card displays out to a tv. When using a hdmi to DVI adapter and connecting my DVI Cinema Display I don't get a signal. Can anyone help me out here.
     
  7. Razzerman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    #7
    Hello there. I have the same Asus card in my 2009 mac pro. Mac OS 10.11.4, Nvidia driver: 346.03.06f01.

    I don't think the hdmi to dvi adapter is helping. Are you able to connect your monitor without the hdmi adapter?

    I've not got my hdmi working either, but have no dvi to dvi issues, just no boot screen. Have even connected two monitors (DVI and VGA) at the same time.

    Hope this helps,

    Razzerman
     
  8. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #8

    Only port that seems to work on this card is the VGA. I do also still have the original GT 120 card installed and the web drivers are on. Are you sure it's the same card? Asus GeForce GTX 750ti 2GB DDR5. 2xdvi, 1hdmi, 1vga
     
  9. LightBulbFun macrumors 6502a

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #9
    ill quickly point out that the GTX 750/Ti cards seem to be quite problematic MVC explained it was to do with how the Video ports where laid out in the BIOS. apparently EVGA cards work best. (you can also flash another BIOS from another GTX 750 Ti with a matching port layout and see if that makes all the ports work. )
     
  10. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #10
    Never really learned how to do that. I'm hoping I missed something simple here
     
  11. Razzerman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    #11
    GTXpic.jpg

    Yes, that's that card. I bought mine brand new about 8 months ago. I'm using the dvi port next to the vga port. Maybe try another dvi cable? Guessing what MVC says will be pretty spot on though.

    Good luck,

    Razzerman
     
  12. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #12
    Can I ask what monitor you are using? Perhaps it simply doesn't work with a Cinema Display?
     
  13. Razzerman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    #13
    It's a samsung T220HD, about 5 years old-ish
     
  14. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #14
    Well I took a shot and read up on flashing graphic cards using nvflash and a rom I found online....the result is I am now using my cinema displays! The DVI ports work fine under OSX but oddly I think the VGA doesn't. When booted into my Windows 10 drive the top DVI functions and the VGA also but the other DVI is not completely functional without some unplugging of other monitors. Well I got what I wanted and still have my GT 120 installed for a boot screen.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. LightBulbFun macrumors 6502a

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #15
    Glad to see its mostly working now :) if @Razzerman Has a card with the same port layout as your card but works perfectly in OS X i would contact him to dump the ROM of his card and flash that to your card. or browse around techpowerups impressive collection of GPU ROMs find one that matches your cards port layout
     
  16. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #16

    Maybe I will in the future but now it's functioning exactly how I needed it. Thanks though!
     

Share This Page