Asus R9 280X 3,1 MP

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by waloshin, Mar 15, 2017.

  1. waloshin macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #1
    I am looking to connect a Asus R9 280X what do I need to make sure this runs without destroying my Mac Pro?

    Could I use 2 Molex to 1 8 pin and the 6 pin from the motherboard?
     
  2. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #2
    2x motherboard 6pin is usually sufficient, but you could also use additional molex connectors for a safer power supply. There are various threads here about your options.

    Btw, be aware that the 280X will be crippled by a nasty power management bug in your 3,1 (unless you're running a really old OS), so you'll have to remove some system files as a workaround.
     
  3. waloshin thread starter macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #3
    Where do I find the information on this?
     
  4. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #4
  5. waloshin thread starter macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #5
    sudo kextunload /System/Library/Extensions/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext

    Password:

    (kernel) Can't unload kext com.apple.driver.AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement; classes have instances:

    (kernel) Kext com.apple.driver.AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement class AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement has 1 instance.

    Failed to unload com.apple.driver.AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement - (libkern/kext) kext is in use or retained (cannot unload).

    WorkStations-Mac-Pro:~ workstation$
     
  6. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #6
    Don't unload kexts, just copy them someplace for backup and delete them from S/L/E

    AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext
    AppleIntelCPUPowerManagementClient.kext

    Be sure to disable SIP, so you could edit system folder (csrutil status to check and csrutil disable to turn it off, but only from Recovery HD).

    Edit: I'm just assuming that you're on El Capitan or Sierra, no SIP on earlier OS'.
     
  7. waloshin, Mar 17, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2017

    waloshin thread starter macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #7
    Thank you and I am running El Caption.

    After deleting the .kexts I am seeing no real improvement.

    Before is on the left while after is on the right. I have no flashed or modified my card yet.

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  8. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #8
    NovaBench is hopeless, it's totally outdated and unable to benchmark the GPU at all. Anyway, the Luxmark score looks rational, the 280X should be good to go.
     
  9. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #9
    Luxmark looks great, without the removal of those two kexts it would be in 6-7000 range.

    Screen Shot 2017-03-18 at 14.42.13.png
     
  10. waloshin thread starter macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #10
    Thank you. It did seem like novabench did nothing.
     
  11. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #11
    Yes, novabench is old benchmark from the time when CPUs did 99% of the job.
    It showed absolutely no difference when i compared HD6850 to HD7950 few years ago - same score.

    Cinebench GPU benchmark is also very CPU (single thread) limited so no need to run that one also, except for the CPU benchmark.
     
  12. waloshin thread starter macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #12
    With my 2012 Mac Mini it seems like it kills my Mac Pro with my R9 280X on export of H264 and export to DVD. Is this due to Intel Quick sync?
     
  13. Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #13
    Yes, exactly.
     
  14. waloshin thread starter macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #14
    Looks like I am better off selling my Mac Pro as it will just slow me down when compared to the Mini. Should have done more research.
     
  15. Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #15
    Afaik Intel Quick Sync is only used with h.264. All other formats are not accelerated.
     
  16. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #16
    Intel's Core i series is light years ahead of CPUs used in cMP3,1 so those results are expected.
    Also, i highly doubt that your GPU was used in exporting. What program are you using?
     
  17. waloshin thread starter macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #17
    Final Cut Pro 10.3
     
  18. waloshin, Mar 18, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2017

    waloshin thread starter macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #18
    2008 Mac Pro 2.7 Ghz Quad Core
    16 Gigabytes of ram
    Asus R9 280X 3 GB Video Card
    500 gigabyte hard drive with El Captain
    External Netgear Wifi 802.11AC

    What is this system worth?
     
  19. waloshin thread starter macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #19
    Would I be better adding a second 2.8 GHZ quad core cpu and an external hard drive through USB 3? Or just save up for a newer iMac?

    Right now with my configuration I can share a 2 hour SD video within hour to H264.
     
  20. waloshin thread starter macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #20
    I have build a Hackintosh

    With a i7 7700
    16 Gigabytes of Ram 2400 MHZ
    As well as with my AMD R9 280X

    Here is my results:

    Looks like the old Mac Pro was not really limiting my graphics cards performance.
     

    Attached Files:

  21. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #21
    Luxmark is virtually never CPU limited, even a MacPro1,1 will give that score.
     

Share This Page