At&t 2Wire router/modem drops/resets constantly! wtF!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by hotalby, Jul 3, 2008.

  1. hotalby macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    San Marcos, CA
    #1
    i have a macbook and my gf has a mBP and we just recently go SBC/At&t DSL. but this stupid ass 2wire modem keeps randomly losing all its signal or something and takes about 5 mins to reset. I had this problem when i was at home with the same router. Does anyone know what to do?
    Thanks a lot
    Albert
     
  2. liquidh2o macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #2
    You're going to have to call SBC/AT&T. Chances are they're going to have to adjust your speeds so the modem can maintain a constant connection.
     
  3. txhockey9404 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #3
    I have this exact same problem. I am calling Comcast and Verizon today to see if they are available in my area. The ATT internet is almost unusable with its constant dropping and asking to restart.
     
  4. baummer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Southern California
    #4
    Your best option would be to call ATT support and have them exchange your gateway. Seems like you have a dud machine, or you are far away from the telco center, maybe just barely on the outskirts of acceptable connections. Might look into ATT U-verse - separate from ATT DSL.
     
  5. txhockey9404 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #5
    Thanks for the help, but I have already called AT&T many times, and they have found no problems with my gateway through their tests. I also looked at U-Verse, but it looks as if it is just a TV service (I have DirecTV and do not want to drop it for anything except Verizon FiOS, which is not available in my area yet). It is quite probable that I am at the outskirts of the center, because a friend of mine who lives a few miles away has no problems with her ATT DSL service. Right now, I am considering giving Comcast a call, despite all the news about throttling torrent downloads (I have never done a torrent download, and never plan to). Verizon does not have service in my area, so I am stuck between Bad and Worse. Now it's just time to find out which is which.
     
  6. baummer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Southern California
    #6
    U-verse is also an internet service, though you'd need it setup with TV. What many do is take advantage of the free TV for 30 days, and then before the 30 days cancel the TV but keep the internet service. But sounds like you may not be near one of their switches, which would render it pointless. Have you tried sites like dslreports.com to see what others in your area use?
     
  7. txhockey9404 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #7
    I just checked dslreports.com, and it posted Comcast as the #1 provider for my area, with ATT second.
     
  8. dlink5262 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    #8
    I have a similar problem. I can connect just fine to my 2wire its just that every time my computer goes into sleep mode or i close it, it disconnects. Though at my fathers house the 2wire he has works just fine with mine. Anyone have ideas?
     
  9. memauss macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    #9
    att sucks

    My MB cannot maintain constant internet connection with the 2wire either. I have called several months in a row and they have replaced the modem and sent out techs and NOTHING works. I am in a MAJOR metro area and I have the same prob with my desk top. ATT is again sending out another tech.
     
  10. georgiaguy, Mar 20, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2011

    georgiaguy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    #10
    att throttling

    I have no problem with my att 2wire except every time i start bittorrent the modem does this. It blinks red and loses connection..then you have to wait for reacquire. This goes on until I shut down bittorrent. Before this week this never happened; I was allowed to file share all the time no problem..but recently I had my account reset and it had been about 3 years old..as soon as that happened I can't use file sharing at all.
    This is att in Augusta GA. I called att and they checked the line...all ok..the suggestion was that my modem was broken and that she could charge me for a new one and send it right out. The modem is not broken and they know it.
     
  11. derezzzed macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    #11
    Please help!

    My problem seems to be whenever I have several connections on it. When I have more than 1 connection going, it loses connection and reconnects to DSL and then to internet. I have a 2WIRE 2701 HG-B router, and I have AT&T DSL service. A tech came out and had them turn off "flood gate" or something like that, which was turning it off so it couldn't be infiltrated by viruses, because it detected it as suspicious activity. It worked great for about 1 whole week. Now its back to crashing. Is it the router? Is it AT&T? Flood Gate? Help me out!
    Thanks,
    David
     

Share This Page