AT&T 3G capped upload speeds - confirmation facebook page

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by iPadThai, Jul 20, 2010.

  1. iPadThai macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    #1
    http://www.facebook.com/ATT?v=app_10442206389

    Wow, they claim they have measures set in place so that affected customers continue to have normal 3G uplink speeds. This is just pathetic. AT&T is such a failing miserable company. Yes, I will leave them on ETF when there is word of a Verizon iPhone.

    When was sub 100kbps "NORMAL" for any 3G upload speeds?
     
  2. alecmcmahon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Location:
    Woodbridge, NJ
    #2
    off your link...


    Data Speed Updates
    You may have seen some speculation that we were somehow capping data speeds. We're not.
    Here's the deal: It's a software issue which AT&T and Alcatel-Lucent have now jointly identified. It's only triggered under certain conditions and has only impacted uplink performance for less than 2% of our customer base — those using Laptop Connect and smartphone customers using 3G HSUPA-capable wireless devices in markets with Alcatel-Lucent equipment. Alcatel-Lucent is developing a longer-term software fix in the coming weeks, but in the meantime we have implemented an alternative that provides normal 3G uplink speeds and consistent performance for affected customers using HSUPA-capable devices.



    good job ?


    derf....
     
  3. squeakr macrumors 68000

    squeakr

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #3
    Just hold your phone a certain way and you will never notice the cap!!:eek:
     
  4. iPadThai thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    #4
    What AT&T 'says' on their faceshiiit page is different than what they do in real life.

    A cap is a cap. Believe in unicorns why don't you ;)
     
  5. Rajani Isa macrumors 65816

    Rajani Isa

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Location:
    Rogue Valley, Oregon
    #5
    No. A cap is a cap is a cap is a false statement, especially with the way you are trying to spin it.

    There are three basic types of caps.

    1). A cap for cap's sake. Usuually like internetnet where the cap you to make you pay more for the next "tier".

    2) A cap for performance reasons - done to make the system can handle the expected load without crashing, not to gougue for more money. This kind sets the cap as high as they can safely get away with.

    3) Reality - where the hardware just can't go faster. Deal with it.


    If AT&T is capping right now, it would bevreason 2 and/or 3.
     
  6. iPadThai thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    #6
    You didn't read the article near the bottom:

    As an alternative, AT&T has implemented what they believe to be normal 3G uplinks speeds for all affected users.

    When did sub 100kbps become normal for any 3G uplink speed?
     

Share This Page