Carrier AT&T Activation (I used another lines upgrade)

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Dr Kevorkian94, Sep 15, 2016.

  1. Dr Kevorkian94 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    SI, NY
    #1
    My 7 will be arriving tomorrow and I want to use my line instead of the other line on my plan it was upgraded with. Do I pop my 6S sim in before I turn it on and go from there OR do I activate it as is (with the other line) and then switch the sims? The other line was upgraded with The next program. An AT&T rep told he to just switch the sims but never told me when to do it. Any help is appreciated, thanks everyone!
     
  2. sawah macrumors 6502a

    sawah

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    #2
    As far as I know just pop your sim in before you turn it on.
     
  3. sawah macrumors 6502a

    sawah

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    #3
    If you activate it with the sim that in the phone when it comes it will end up on the other line and kill that phones sim.
     
  4. Dr Kevorkian94 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    SI, NY
    #4
    Great, thank you!
     
  5. Time Less macrumors 6502

    Time Less

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #5
    This is true. You need to contact att before you turn it on and tell them to switch it.
     
  6. Dr Kevorkian94 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    SI, NY
    #6
    So to be clear you are saying I should put my sim in the new phone and call AT&T to tell them my line will be using that phone? Then turn it on?
     
  7. Time Less macrumors 6502

    Time Less

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #7
    From what I was told, don't swap sim or anything. Call as soon as you receive your new phone.
     
  8. Steve686 macrumors 68030

    Steve686

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Location:
    US>FL>Miami/Dade>Sunny Isles Beach>Condo
    #8
    Just activate the phone if it isn't activated already when you get it.

    Switch sims.

    Both lines in your account overview will list whatever phone is running on each line.

    I switch between a Samsung and iPhone often. Zero issues.
     
  9. Dr Kevorkian94 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    SI, NY
    #9
    This was a thought of mine as well. I think I will try and call AT&T tomorrow and it proves to be to much of a pain to get through I will do this.
     
  10. Steve686 macrumors 68030

    Steve686

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Location:
    US>FL>Miami/Dade>Sunny Isles Beach>Condo
    #10
    It won't be.
     
  11. jeffm5690 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    #11
    I'm doing the same thing. I ordered my wife the upgrade but I'm taking it (on next) and giving her my 6s (on next with a few months left). Do I just take my sim out and pop it in the iPhone 7 or use the att activation website and use the new sim and activate under my name? If so, do I need to put her sim in my old phone right away or can it wait a few days?
     
  12. Steve686 macrumors 68030

    Steve686

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Location:
    US>FL>Miami/Dade>Sunny Isles Beach>Condo
    #12
    Activate as normal.

    Then switch. I don't even bother turning the phones on/off.

    Whatever sim(considering it too was activated on your account previously) is inconsequential.

    The only thing you may have to do go into your account page and rename each line. The ATT system recognizes whatever phone is on each line and displays a picture of it.

    I have 3 phone lines and I use only one phone but switch numbers/sims often.
     

Share This Page