AT&T enterprise data? wtf...

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Ttados, Aug 10, 2010.

  1. Ttados macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #1
    I just got my AT&T bill and noticed it was about $12 higher than usual. Actually, it was the same price as last month but I had been out of the country and thought there were some added fees for texts and calls but thats neither here nor there...Anyway, I have the plan with the least amount of minutes, unlimited data and unlimited texting. I am pretty sure, in the past, unlimited data has been $30 but when I just checked my bill I was under some enterprise data plan for $40. Did they screw everyone who had unlimited data when the add the new 2gb data plans? Is there anything I can do about this?
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    No, I'm still on the 30 dollar plan.

    My recommendation is to call them and ask, I'm sure there's a simple explanation and/or corrective action they can take. No reason to jump to conclusions when a simple phone call can probably resolve it.
     
  3. Ttados thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #3
    Ok great its good to know they didnt raise the price! Im calling now....
     
  4. Wicked1 macrumors 68040

    Wicked1

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #4
    Did you access an Exchange server in any way? I know pple here who thought they could access their Exchange email without that plan and AT&T auto enrolled them in Enterprise Data, it is in their Policy to do so.
     
  5. thep33t macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #5
    I and many other peiople here acess Exchange, and have no additional charge over the $30...
     
  6. Ttados thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #6
    Nope the only email i get is normal gmail but it seems they randomly decided to add tethering. Who really knows what they did haha.
     
  7. Black993 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #7
    There isn't any difference, other than price, for the enterprise data plan from what I understand.
     
  8. h1r0ll3r macrumors 68040

    h1r0ll3r

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Location:
    Maryland
    #8
    You said you were out of the country. Did you use any data while abroad? Is your Gmail set to push? If so, the extra fee(s) may be related to that since the roaming data charges from AT&T are ridiculous.
     
  9. Space Moose macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    #9
    Ugh, roaming fees are highway robbery. I have a Fido (Canada) contract, and I was in Portland a few months ago for a weekend. It was actually cheaper to pay $30 to add a US Roaming package to my phone. All that package did was *reduce the rate*!

    I wound up toggling my 'roaming data' setting on and off like a bit-miser, every time I *needed* to use the maps or get data. It wound up costing me close to $50 for extremely rationed data and cell use. Without the $30 package, it would have been over $100.

    Carriers rob you blind at the best of times, but they really enjoy bending you over when you travel outside their network.

    Of course now, I went with a factory unlocked iPhone 4 (no jailbreaking required), and I've now freed myself from ever paying stupidly exorbitant rates again. I can pop any SIM I want into it, and there's nothing any carrier can say about it. Quite refreshing really.

    Lots of factory unlocked phones available on eBay if one wants to look for them. Oh, and a shameless plug for one I'm selling below! :p
     

Share This Page