AT&T: how to activate new phone w different line?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by dagdagdag234, Sep 18, 2012.

  1. dagdagdag234 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #1
    Just got off the phone with AT&T and was surprised what the guy told me about activating my new phone on my line, since I'm using my wife's line on our family plan in order to get the upgrade.

    He said that all iPhone 5s need to have someone call in for activation, since it's a different type of sim card. And when I call in they will match up the sim card to whichever phone number on my plan I'm using the new phone for.

    This seems weird - I thought I was going to have to bring the phone in and physically get a new card from the AT&T store in order to switch the line. I figured whatever card was in there was already programmed for my wife's line,

    So I guess this means I don't turn on the phone and try and activate it first, I call AT&T first? Cn anyone who knows more about this stuff than me confirm that this AT&T guy was actually correct?

    Thanks a bunch.
     
  2. Jamesesesesess macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    #2
    The rep is right, the SIM card isn't actually designated to any number until the iPhone is activated. AT&T signals the IMEI the phone number when it's activated. You can call them up, and they'll change the phone number for that IMEI, then you can activate. It's quite simple.
     
  3. lelisa13p macrumors 68000

    lelisa13p

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA USA
    #3
    It would certainly be easier to call AT&T and tell them that you've received your phone and haven't turned it on yet than to turn it on and hit a snag.

    There may be instructions included with the shipment. :)
     
  4. boshii macrumors 68040

    boshii

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #4
    I'm doing an upgrade swap and don't plan on turning on the phone until I call AT&T.

    If the phone gets activated, you will end up needing to go to an AT&T store.
     
  5. ixodes macrumors 601

    ixodes

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Location:
    Pacific Coast, USA
    #5
    The specific task you want done is called an "Upgrade Swap". Done very easily over the phone, no sim swapping or trips to AT&T are required. It's done in one easy phone call. I routinely use that procedure when upgrading multiple iPhones with AT&T.

    ----------

    while that used to be the case, it no longer Applies. Anything & everything can now be done via a phone call. The relatively new system eliminates the need to go in to a store.
     
  6. dagdagdag234 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #6
    Thanks for all the helpful advice, everyone. Sounds pretty easy.

    I just hope when I call up and they hear "wife" and "swap" they don't get the wrong idea...

     
  7. Olivia23 macrumors 6502a

    Olivia23

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Location:
    around
    #7
    What would worry me about that is if you are trying to keep unlimited by using another's upgrade, and they activate on your line first, won't you lose the unlimited?
     
  8. boshii macrumors 68040

    boshii

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #8
    The data plan is tied to the phone number so as long as I have my number i'll have unlimited. I'm not worried at all about losing it. Even if I lost it somehow during the swap, you better believe AT&T will be adding it back to my line.
     

Share This Page