AT&T iPhone 5S not compatible with Tmo, According to Tmo

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by ahfu25, Jul 9, 2014.

  1. ahfu25 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #1
    I got my iPhone 5S unlocked from AT&T with hopes of moving over to Tmo. I went on the Tmo website and selected the option to bring my own device and this is the message I get. Any thoughts or advice?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. VolceOntra macrumors 6502

    VolceOntra

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    #2
    That false, my roommate has been using an att unlocked iPhone on their network for 5 months.
     
  3. T5BRICK macrumors G3

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #3
    The AT&T and T-Mobile iPhones 5s is the same hardware. If it's unlocked it will work.
     
  4. Garen macrumors regular

    Garen

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles Area
    #4
    I moved my 2 unlocked at&t 5S to T-mobile 5 months ago no problem whatsoever they are the same phones,
     
  5. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    #5
    Your screenshot does not indicate anything about not compatible. You should correct your clickbait fabricated thread title.

    I propose: "TMobile's database monkey's didnt adaquately fill in their compatibility list"
    Or
    "TMobile's hacking team couldnt extract a complete list of IMEI numbers out of ATT"
     
  6. nicholasss macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Location:
    Usa
    #6
    Why even bother with that process?
    Just get a sim card and start using it.
     
  7. ahfu25 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #7
    This was my mistake lol. Look at the link...I chose the wrong link in my results from google. That's for pre-paid service. Which isn't what it want.
     
  8. natewsmith79 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    #8
    Take your phone to an actual CORPORATE T-MOBILE STORE and they will properly switch it over to their network! I had an old ATT iPhone 4 and it's worked just fine, now I have an iPhone 5.
     
  9. nicholasss macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Location:
    Usa
    #9
    If it's unlocked already there's nothing to "switch over." Pop in the SIM card and you're ready to go
     
  10. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #10
    You need to enter Apple iPhone 5s for some reason. iPhone 5s isn't in their list by itself.
     
  11. MattMJB0188 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #11
    I had a really arrogant T-Mobile manager argue with me that my unlocked AT&T iPhone 5S would not pick up LTE because it wasn't "their" version of the iPhone. When the phone finally popped up with LTE, I shoved it right in his face. He was like its temporary, and you won't get it anywhere else. I laughed and walked out. The point is... T-Mobile reps don't know jack S***.

    AT&T and T-Mobile have the EXACT iphone 5S model. Only difference between the two they are both locked to their respective carrier. That's it!
     

Share This Page