AT&T iPhone 6plus wifi calling issues

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by iapplelove, Mar 14, 2016.

  1. iapplelove macrumors 601

    iapplelove

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Location:
    East Coast USA
    #1
    So not sure if anyone else who uses Cox Communications for internet and a Time Capsule/Airport had pretty popular wifi connection issues. Seems Cox switched to IPv6 while apple routers use IPv4 by default.

    After about two weeks of dealing with wifi dropping out Apple finally came up with a fix and I had to change a few settings through airport utility and everything is well again.

    However I did notice my 6 plus no longer responds to wifi calling. In fact I have not seen WI-FI next to my wifi symbol in over a week. My iPhone 6 has no issues just the 6 plus. I tried everything except reseting my network settings or wiping the phone clean and starting over.

    Just wondering if anyone else had heard of had any similar issues ??

    thanks!
     
  2. mrpiii macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Hailey, ID
    #2
    My iPhone 6+ works fine with Cox wifi calling (Current generation Time Capsule) - having said that the clarity of the call isn't as good as the local AT&T LTE network, but I have one bar or less LTE at home so the wifi calling is a blessing.

    I have constant issues with my TC losing communications with my modem requiring a reboot - Airport Utility says the TC is up and all is well but no Internet connection. The modem, a Surfboard SB6141, says it is connected (logging into it). Cox says it is an Apple IPV6 issue. Apple says it is a Cox issue. How did you resolve the issue? Apple had me do a TC reset. I still have the issue.

    Thanks!
     
  3. iapplelove, Mar 29, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2016

    iapplelove thread starter macrumors 601

    iapplelove

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Location:
    East Coast USA
    #3
    I had the same issue and finally I fixed it. Problem is cox switched to IPv6 and the TC supports IPv4. But there is a work around in airport utility. Let me know if you need help.

    I went into advanced settings in airport utility and changed IPv6 from automatic to link local only. Do this and the problem is solved.
     

Share This Page