Carrier AT&T iPhone delivered. Now what?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by eoblaed, Sep 22, 2016.

  1. eoblaed macrumors 68000

    eoblaed

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    #1
    My daughter just got her AT&T iPhone 7 delivered in the mail (from AT&T, she went into a store, ordered it, etc).

    I always get my iPhones at an Apple Store and they do all the mojo to switch service to the new hardware. What're the steps involved at this point?


    (edit: obviously, she's got backups, etc, and know how to restore. just need to know how to get the new phone to become the active phone from AT&T's perspective)
     
  2. jbachandouris macrumors 601

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #2
    If you ordered from AT&T, you just turn it on and follow the steps. As far as I know, they all come activated.
     
  3. Older bird macrumors regular

    Older bird

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015
    #3
    It comes preloaded with a sim turn it on and the old sim in the previous phone will go inactive. Good to go!
     
  4. theMaccer macrumors 6502a

    theMaccer

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Location:
    SoCal
  5. KillaMac Suspended

    Joined:
    May 25, 2013
    #5
    Mine says no service......It's restore on my wifi from the cloud right now, but makes me wonder if it has a sim card.
     
  6. ZipZap macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    #6
    Unless you paid for the phone in full. Then you need to swap your new phones SIM with the one from your old phone.
     
  7. C5.4 macrumors member

    C5.4

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    #7
    If you ordered the phone from AT&T it has a sim card in it but isn't activated. Call their customer service number from someone else's phone and a robot will answer and activate the new sim. Have to enter the ssn on file to confirm your identity then reboot the new phone and it will be activated. This is what I had to do. Swapping the SIMs might work too but mine didn't come with a sim eject tool so I didn't try
     
  8. KillaMac Suspended

    Joined:
    May 25, 2013
    #8
    I swapped the SIMs and its working now. Thanks!
     
  9. ogs123 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    #9
    Instead of calling you can just go to www.att.com/activate it's faster since you don't have to wait. You need only the ICCID and the IMEI.
     

Share This Page