AT&T iPhone Unlimited Data question

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by sweettahsin, Aug 10, 2014.

  1. sweettahsin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    #1
    I have an iPhone 4s, and I have a grandfathered unlimited data plan on 3G, and every month I use almost 170 gb. Is that okay for data use because it seems that i never get throttled on my plan ever.
     
  2. cnotes2019 Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
  3. jlake02 macrumors 68020

    jlake02

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Location:
    L.A.
  4. EM2013 macrumors 65816

    EM2013

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    #5
    What's the point of this thread? Is there a question..?
     
  5. chestvrg macrumors 65816

    chestvrg

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
  6. cnotes2019 Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    #7

    I use that much on 2g
     
  7. Jstuts5797 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    #8
    I also have the grandfathered unlimited on AT&T and I go over 5GB lots of months. Sometimes by a lot... And I have yet to ever be throttled... Ever...
     
  8. chestvrg macrumors 65816

    chestvrg

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    #9
    But aren't the new plans better b/c you can tether? I like my 3GB plan on t-mobile because I can use it in any combination, either on my kid's iPod touch/iPad mini, my laptop, a friend who needs to connect their device and/or my phone.

    ----------


    Me on GPRS lol
     
  9. 617aircav Suspended

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    #10
    Im waiting as well.
     
  10. mantan macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Location:
    DFW
    #12
    First and only post is this one..... sounds like someone is trolling....
     
  11. chestvrg macrumors 65816

    chestvrg

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    #13
    Yes sounds like the OP is because that is a lot of GB w/o being throttled.
     
  12. nostresshere macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    #14
    170 gb?

    Yea, right. I think ATT would pay him to go elsewhere.


    Personally, I dropped our unlimited plans and went with 10gb plan and saved $1000 a year.
     
  13. chestvrg macrumors 65816

    chestvrg

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    #15
    I don't even pull 80GB on my home comcast acct monthly :-(
     
  14. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #16
    Pretty much sounds like a troll post. I don't even know if I use that much data a month with all devices on wifi and I stream the **** out of everything. I think this is an attention grab with claim that are likely untrue. Asking if 170 gb is a lot tells me this can't be a serious question.
     
  15. nostresshere macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    #17
    If not a troll, maybe he can not read and it is 170meg a month?
     
  16. chestvrg macrumors 65816

    chestvrg

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    #18
    I don't believe there is a cellular company out here that doesn't detect 170GB. Unless he meant 170MB
     
  17. I7guy macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    Looking at Central Park@550 feet
    #19
    This 170 mb or maybe 1 gb, but accidentally added a "7" and "0".
     
  18. EM2013 macrumors 65816

    EM2013

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    #20
    Not to mention it's 3G not LTE. Either way this thread is pointless as the op left and is probably never coming back.
     
  19. nostresshere macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    #21
    As often happens here, but we all trip all over ourselves trying to answer a worthless question.
     
  20. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  21. chestvrg macrumors 65816

    chestvrg

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    #23
    Yes it is almost impossible to get so much data used w/o been caught.
     
  22. Ffosse macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    #24
    I use over 100gb a month on 3 UK for £15 - includes 300 minutes and 3000 texts.

    Last month it was 106gb, pretty easy to do over mobile data.
     
  23. zorinlynx macrumors 601

    zorinlynx

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #25
    iPhone 4s...

    Isn't the throttling only on LTE? An iPhone 4S is HSPA+ at most.

    So this seems plausible...
     

Share This Page