AT&T Microcell problems

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by RobNYC, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. RobNYC macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #1
    Since updating to iOS5 my iPhone 4 has been having trouble staying in my microcell. You have to either restart it or put it into airplane mode for a few seconds and force it to "search" for the microcell.

    Restoring and even removing and reinstalling the microcell hasn't fixed the problem. Anyone else have this issue after upgrading to iOS 5?
     
  2. coolnwo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #2
    Yep I have a IPHONE 4s and have the same issue. I thought my Microcell might just be going bad. I have it plugged priority one also.
     
  3. CosmoPilot macrumors 65816

    CosmoPilot

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Location:
    South Carolina
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    My does the same thing. I assumed it was having difficulty dropping the cell towers and picking up the microcell. If its not connected, I go into airplane mode for a few seconds and then it will connect to the microcell.

    Another issue I'm having with it is the inability to make a call on the first attempt. It never works. The 2nd attempt always connects, just not the first. Anyone having this issue too!
     
  4. jcampbell1070 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    #4


    mine stays connected to the microcell. but i have the same issue of the first call failing and the second call working. the microcell has done this on my iphone 4 also. its a microcell problem and not a iphone problem.
     
  5. robdam1001 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
  6. mbhforum macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #6
    Don't bother calling AT&T either as they won't help. I sold mine on eBay as fortunately the reception in my house isn't too bad. There is a whole thread on AT&T forums and the 4s is very problematic. My friend who gets zero reception has one and it Works perfect.
     
  7. CosmoPilot macrumors 65816

    CosmoPilot

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Location:
    South Carolina
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    My works very well, I wouldn't say "perfectly", but well enough that I can live with the quirkiness of it.

    I've rebooted it many times to no avail. My wife's iP4 does the same thing, so I know it isn't a phone issue.
     
  8. ninerfan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    #8
    Hmmm, and here I thought it was my new 4S that was the problem. I, too, am having the first call fail problem. The second goes through just fine. Mine stays connected just fine, though.

    The microcell is a miracle for us. We had zero reception and now have crystal clear 5 bar reception. Couldn't be without it.
     
  9. RobNYC thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #9
    I've not had the first call drop but when I'm on the phone the other person says I cut out a lot. That was the problem before I got the microcell but it seems now it's as if even if I'm on the microcell it's still getting really bad call quality.
     
  10. Weirik macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    #10
    Strange, I haven't had this problem of disconnecting from mine. When I'm at home it always shows that I'm connected; however, now and when I had my 3GS I would drop calls while showing 5 bars on m-cell. Pretty lame.
     
  11. Jordan921 macrumors 68040

    Jordan921

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #11
    I'm experiencing same thing. I've just gotten use to the first call not going through. But yea i'm not having any connection issues with my 4S
     
  12. benhollberg macrumors 68020

    benhollberg

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #12
    With the iPhone 4S I have problems making calls. I always can receive calls fine. When making a call it immediately fails the first time, sometimes up to three times. It'll eventually go through usually. Never had the problem with iPhone 4.
     
  13. cathaus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    #13
    iOS 5.0.1 and still no love

    I just upgraded to the latest iOS version on my iPhone 4 and i'm still getting flakey performance from the AT&T Microcell. This problem began when I upgraded to iOS 5 and is primarily an issue where the the phone loses connection with the Microcell and can't seem to find it again unless I cycle through Airplane mode or restart the phone. All the normal routes have been explored such as restarting the Microcell. I really think this is something in the new iOS since prior to upgrading I always had a dependable 3G signal from the Microcell.
     
  14. ladytonya macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #14
    Similar problem here. Hubby and I both have iPhone 4 and Microcell. We don't have trouble connecting to or staying connected to our MC, but we have trouble making calls. We haven't tried calling AT&T because I've read both here and on AT&T forums that calling them is pretty pointless. It's frustrating, but where I live we get terrible signal in the apartment so at least the MC gives us something. Without, we have to go outside to make calls. No trouble with AT&T reception anywhere else around town, just in our apartment complex, it's like we live in a dead zone. Very annoying!
     
  15. blulegend macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    #15
    Same with mine. Early model MicroCell and iPhone 4 now with iOS 5.0.1
     
  16. Sootman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    #16
    I had the lack of making my initial call with my 3GS and now my 4S. I've spent hours with AT&T to no avail. I've done resets, relocations and stood on my head but it still takes 3-4 times for the first call to go through. The good news is that the carrier has reduced my bill each time I've called and complained, but that's getting old. Anyone try the Verizon device that functions like the Microcell and is it any better?
     
  17. JDean2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    #17
    Same here, Microcell using 4 and 4S's the first call never goes through. But, now it happens without using the microcell at all (unplugged it). Both iPhone 4's in my house are still on 4.3 and my 4S is on 5.0.1

    I had my microcell between my Cable modem and my wireless router. Maybe a tower problem?
     
  18. cathaus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    #18
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I made some progress today. AT&T tech support confirmed there is an issue with iOS 5 and the 3G Microcell. They are working with Apple to fix the issue but in the mean time I've found some success on my own.

    The first thing I did was move the microcell to a new location in our home. Now it sits by a window and is in an open area away from any walls. The second thing I did was uninstall and then reinstall it via the AT&T website. Lastly I set up my DSL modem in bridge mode and my router to PPPoE and gave the Microcell a static IP and exempted it from the router's firewall. After all this the unit seems to be working great. Time will tell. What is particularly frustrating about this device is how closed it is. Except for the status lights on the front there is no way to know what it's up to.
     
  19. cbronfman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #19
    Oh my

    ATT didn't tell me there were others. I'm having the same problem. In my condo, 1st sometimes 2nd call CALL FAILED. Eventually a call goes through and then the reception is flawless although my 4S signal strength with ATT is so much better than I had with my 3GS that I've periodically thought of turning off the Microcell (until I go into an interior room). Next time I call AT&T about the problem, I'll start from the knowledge they're others.
     
  20. ZipZap macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    #20
    Never had any trouble on IOS 4 using IP4.
    With IP4S, occasional first call fail. Perhaps it is a IOS 5 issue.

    One problem I did have was with the Apple Extreme Router. Latest firmware mucked up the 2.4ghz connection.

    I downgraded the router firmware and then re-upgraded and I have not had any calling issue over the last week.
     

Share This Page