AT&T Network Failure in Orange County, CA

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by hoonu, Jun 16, 2009.

  1. hoonu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #1
    Anyone else having issues? I can barely make calls after several attempts. Data does NOT work and I can not send texts. On top of this, I received a voicemail from Friday today. Almost 5 days later.

    AT&T truly is the suck... and here I was considering a new 3G S. Not worth re-upping on the contract. The sooner Apple gets away... the better.
     
  2. komiothebeat macrumors 6502

    komiothebeat

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Corona, CA
    #2
    wouldn't doubt it, around christmas time they had a tower go out at LAX, and i wasn't about to do anything aside from surf using wifi
     
  3. Daiden macrumors 6502a

    Daiden

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #3
    I'm in Irvine right now and having no problems whatsoever (I just got off the phone). Maybe try turning airplane mode on and off and see if that helps.
     
  4. hoonu thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #4
    The towers should have around 5 mile radius. This issue reaks of their network crumbling from the added users. Its no surprise we are not getting MMS anytime soon let along tethering... and they want to charge for that ****? I mean... come on... I can barely use the data on my phone.... let alone tether it.
     
  5. hoonu thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #5
    I've reset my phone several times today. BTW... im in Huntington Beach... talk about poor coverage... more bars in more places my ass.
     
  6. Daiden macrumors 6502a

    Daiden

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #6
    That sucks. I guess I have terrible phone service to look forward to when I get home tonight.

    I've also received voicemails days after they've been left, but I figured that was because of the hacked IPCC file I have installed on my phone.
     
  7. hoonu thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #7
    I tried airplane mode and back and it my phone was searching for a network for over a min. Then I got full bars with no 3G logo. Bars dropped to 1... now it says No Service.

    GG AT&T
     
  8. skball123 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    #8
    You know... Calling AT&T doesn't hurt. Didn't you learn in grades school that the smarter person asks why instead of whining...:rolleyes:
     
  9. Daiden macrumors 6502a

    Daiden

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #9
    If there truly is something wrong with the service in the area, a technical support rep won't be able to fix the issue over the phone.
     
  10. weeman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    #10
    Im in Seal Beach and coverage seems pretty normal!
     
  11. B-Ri macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
  12. hoonu thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #12
    Now I apparently have service... but nothing works. No calls, texts, data...
     
  13. Silv3rF0x macrumors member

    Silv3rF0x

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Oklahoma, USA
    #13
    Aparently I have the first gen phone and I am in Oklahoma City, OK also had ever since they released the word on the new phone and update and stuff my serivce has gone to ****. I wonder if there trying to force me to upgrade to the 3G
     
  14. hoonu thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #14
    I was considering upgrading myself... but its really not worth it. I'll be glad when they jump carriers. I worked with cellular technology companies and I must say there is a reason CDMA has the best 3G coverage and speed in the states.

    Sad thing is, when I went to Europe last November... I had flawless service in Amsterdam, London, Paris, and Dublin. 4 countries got it right...
     
  15. hoonu thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #15
    Appears now that Edge works and 3G doesn't. Guess I'll make a trip to the AT&T store to try a new sim card. Its kinda ridiculous they don't have replacement phones in the AT&T store and the earliest Genius Appt is tomorrow...
     
  16. MadMacxxx macrumors 6502a

    MadMacxxx

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    #16
    what?! I get FANTASTIC service in laguna niguel and most parts of oc...
     
  17. apple2E macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Location:
    CA
  18. nabechu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #18
    I have 5 bars and on 3g, so everything is fine here
     
  19. laughingperson5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
  20. iLoveMyApple macrumors 6502a

    iLoveMyApple

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #20
    I'm in Riverside which I know is off topic, but I went to Newport today with my sister and she has an iPhone and she got fine reception.
     
  21. jableskg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
  22. hoonu thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #22
    :confused: The **** is paid. That wouldn't explain the spotty service. Now maybe if they actually took my money and applied it to their weak infrastructure...
     

Share This Page