AT&T network problems?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Aaleck, Dec 16, 2008.

  1. Aaleck macrumors 6502a

    Aaleck

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    #1
    I believe the network in Northern Lower Michigan is having a few problems. The time my iPhone gives me is correct (the one at the top) but if I go into the clock app it displays new york (which is the same time zone, eastern) at 10:36AM when the time is actually 3:41PM. My girlfriends phone (which is not a iPhone) does the same thing. Also, the "Whats On?" app is not displaying correctly. Anyone else having this problem?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. nickspohn macrumors 68040

    nickspohn

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #2
    I'm lost.


    This has nothing to do with the network.
     
  3. Aaleck thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Aaleck

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    #3
    How would you explain this if it was not the network? The only thing that my iphone and my girlfriend's phone has in common is that they're both on AT&T
     
  4. nickspohn macrumors 68040

    nickspohn

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #4
    Settings > Date & Time > Turn set automatically off and set the correct time zone.


    See if that fixes it.

    Those times aren't generated from AT&T. Thus, it isn't AT&T.
     
  5. paulsalter macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Just a thought, looking at the pic above

    When the phone is on WiFi, where does it update the time from, phone network or the WiFi network ?
     
  6. Aaleck thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Aaleck

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    #6
    Yeah that fixed it for my phone... Whats On? works and everything... Thanks.

    What would cause the problem for both my phone and my girlfriends phone then?
     
  7. CocoaPuffs macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #7
    Uhh...what your connection is has nothing to do with where the source of time is coming...
     
  8. Aaleck thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Aaleck

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    #8
    The time has to "Set Automatically" from somewhere, right?
     
  9. paulsalter macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    So why when he has auto time set is it 3 hours out ?

    where is this coming from ?

    If the phone dosnt get the time from the phone network or WiFi network, where does it get it from, must come from somewhere
     
  10. CocoaPuffs macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #10
    It's actually five hours out according to him. Perhaps time provide by the location service of the wifi router overrides AT&T location service, but I highly doubt that.
     
  11. nickspohn macrumors 68040

    nickspohn

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #11
    Okay this is interesting... I took my SIM out, turned off WiFi so i didn't have any signal. I changed the time to my own time, then turned on set automatically and it worked.
     
  12. CocoaPuffs macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #12
    Ok I take that back, perhaps it was set base on location of the wifi router. OP, check the timezone you set for your router.
     
  13. cjandnw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    South Jersey
    #13
    I think New York and Miami will always have the same time...
     

Share This Page