AT&T Prepaid Data Package & iPhone4

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by mst90, Oct 3, 2010.

  1. mst90 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    #1
    Is it possible to use the AT&T Prepaid Package (100MB @ 20$) with a locked AT&T iPhone 4?
    AT&T say it's not for the iPhone but a lot of people say there is a way to use it with the iPhone by changing the APN (with unlockit.co.nz), does that work with a locked iPhone?
    Thanks for every replys..
     
  2. CalBoy macrumors 604

    CalBoy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #2
    If it's an iPhone 4 with ATT, haven't you signed a contract? Would it really be worthwhile to pay the termination fee to use a prepaid card from ATT?

    And isn't the base data package $15 for 200mb? Doesn't seem like the card is particularly worth it.

    Or am I missing something?
     
  3. mst90 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    #3
    I got the iPhone without contract and use it with a AT&T Prepaid Sim and it works really well, but i have no internet and there is a Data Package with 100MB for 20$.

    if I would get the iPad Card with 200MB for 15$ i couldn't text&call, right?

    I cant get a contract because i'm only here in the US for one year ;-)
     
  4. CalBoy macrumors 604

    CalBoy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #4
    Oh I see. ATT won't let you use the regular iPhone $15 data plan? You've already paid for the phone so I think you could convince them to give you the $15/200MB rate for other iPhone customers. It would save you the hassle of buying cards.

    I don't think so. The iPad doesn't use a "card" per se as I understand it; you merely activate the 3G data for the month(s) you intend to use it.
     
  5. mst90 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    #5
    What do you mesn exactly?
    I dont't think I can use a iPad Sim with the 200mb/15$ plan in the iPhone or if I use this plan, I can't text and call.

    And there is no other prepaid plan with 200mb, only the one with 100mb for 20$. And my question now is, can I use this plan with the iPhone, some people say it works, but AT&T say it doesn't work.
     
  6. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #6
    There is a new prepaid plan with 200MB that started last week.
     
  7. Docrjm macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    #7
    AT&T don't give rats are about non contract customers. I have a contract free iPhone 4 and an iPad. Live in Canada, but on occasion travel to the US. AT&T have no method of allowing me to buy data for the iPad, as I would need to have a credit card with aUS billing address. As for a pay as you go option for my iPhone. It was a case of take a long walk off a short plank.

    Seems that they are unable to recognize revenue streams when they are staring you in them face.
     
  8. mst90 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    #8
    So there are 200MB for 15$ and 2GB for 25$, right?
    But when i go to the GoPhone (prepaid) Mall, there is only a package with 1MB for about 5$ and the one with 100MB for 20$.
    And the other question is ,can i use these oackages with the iPhone?
     
  9. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #9
    For prepaid, there is only 1MB for $4.99 and 100MB for $19.99.

    There is an unlimited minutes and text package with 200MB data for about $70 a month. This is the only way to get 200MB on prepaid. There is no 200MB or 2GB add on for prepaid.
     
  10. mst90 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    #10
    100MB should be enough, because of the bad GPRS Network (USA Extended Area), but does the iPhone work with that package?
     
  11. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #11
    It will work once you go to http://unlockit.co.nz on your iPhone and install the AT&T profile and reboot the phone.
     
  12. mst90 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    #12
    sound's good :)
    the only problem now is the network, 1-3/5 Signal & only GPRS, had to think if that make sense.
     
  13. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #13
    Well it's still faster then edge speeds. The problem is that AT&T throttles it's prepaid 3G data speeds. I used to use prepaid on my iPhone 3G and would get about 300-400Kbps. Edge speeds are about 30-40Kbps.
     
  14. mst90 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    #14
    yeah thats really fast, i think the GPRS network here is really slow, not sure if i want to pay 20$ for GPRS oO
     
  15. ibarnett macrumors regular

    ibarnett

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    #15
    Here is the latest on their website, I was unable to find the $75 option online & was unable to get through by phone:mad:
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page