AT&T rolling out multi-view update for Note 2!

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by navajarunner, Dec 27, 2012.

  1. navajarunner macrumors regular

    navajarunner

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    #1
    Mine is downloading over the air right now. Never too late for a Christmas present. o<II:n{o}
     
  2. AutoUnion39 macrumors 601

    AutoUnion39

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #2
    Hopefully someone on XDA will roll this out to a custom S3 rom soon
     
  3. 3bs macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #3
    It's been available for a while now. I was using it on Omega for my international S3. You can even flash a file to get all apps working with it.
     
  4. AutoUnion39 macrumors 601

    AutoUnion39

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #4
    Nothing yet for the AT&T variant. At least, I don't think so...

    Lemme go check again :D
     
  5. F123D macrumors 68040

    F123D

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Location:
    Del Mar, CA
    #5
    I saw the announcement yesterday. Still waiting for my update..
     
  6. cheezeit macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
  7. LSUtigers03 macrumors 68020

    LSUtigers03

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    #7
    If you find a rom let us know.
     
  8. 3bs, Dec 27, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2012

    3bs macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #8
    This looks like it has it. I haven't tried it since I no longer own an S3 (I had an international one anyway)


    Edit: you might wanna go through a few pages of the thread towards the end of it just to see what the state of that ROM is or make a nandroid and jump in. Actually make a nandroid either way :p

    Edit 2: deleted link cause it was for S3 not Note 2.
     
  9. cheezeit macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #9
    I just flashed the international rom, the 7105. Pretty much stock firmware no att junk and has multi already.
     
  10. 3bs macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #10
    For me, I prefer my TouchWiz ROMs as close to stock as possible in terms of looks i.e. toggles, statusbar etc but with AOSP ROMs I don't mind.

    Was the international ROM a port for the ATT version?
     
  11. cheezeit macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #11
    Not even ported, they pretty much run the same hardware minus the radio. Once flashed its like your completely stock with no att boot up(stock Samsung) and no att apps. Plus whenever Samsung updates the note with something you'd get it instead of waiting for att. My only downside is no visual voicemail but I'm sure ill live ;)
     
  12. 3bs, Dec 27, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2012

    3bs macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #12
    I'm pretty sure they use a different processor and the US versions have twice the RAM. Whether either have any effect I don't really know. If its running fine on your phone I guess you're OK but you should probably check to make sure that its OK to flash on your phone.

    Edit: just realised this is for the Note 2 not the S3! oops
     
  13. AutoUnion39 macrumors 601

    AutoUnion39

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #13
    Thanks for the link! I might try it tomorrow.
     
  14. 3bs, Dec 27, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2012

    3bs macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #14
    Good luck and post back with how it goes so the others know if it's worth flashing.

    Edit: it turns out I thought this thread was about the S3 not the Note 2. Don't use that.
     
  15. LIVEFRMNYC macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #15
    I had a problem with this rom. Uninstalled about a month a ago. Problem was not receiving calls. It would only receive calls with LTE off. This just happened out of nowhere. First several weeks it ran flawless. It does have the pop up browser but does not have multiview and is probably not going to be updated in awhile according to dev's posts.
     
  16. cheezeit macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #16
    Lol. Yeah definitely would have been screwed if it were a s3 ;)
     
  17. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
  18. hyteckit Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    #18
    With multi-view and a stylus, I really want a 7" to 7.9" Galaxy Note. The 5.5" Note isn't doing it for me.

    I just turned on my Note 2 after not being off for more than a week. I see Merry Christmas live background on my GO Launcher. Hmm..


    Anyway. No update yet.

    Says "Current software is up to date"
     
  19. daveathall macrumors 68000

    daveathall

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    #19
    That was so annoying, that Christmas overlay, had to go into the Go launcher settings to uncheck it.
     
  20. Tones2 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #20
    No update yet in Chicago. I checked yesterday and today. Unfortunately, AT&T only allows you to check ONE time a day (Grrr...) and then won't let you check again for another 24 hours. I've also heard that it's WiFi only but can't verify this.
     
  21. siiip5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    #21
    Got the update yesterday for AT&T version of Note2 here in California.

    All I can see that is changed is Multi-view. Everything else looks identical. Not all apps can do multi-view either. If an app supports this feature, you swipe from the left and all apps are displayed on the left hand side of the screen, which you can scroll up and down.

    You basically tap on the app icon on the elft and drag it to either the top or bottom of the screen. Works very fluidly and is a pretty good sized window. You can very easily watch a youtube vid on top and web surf on the bottom. or do a google search for info on top, while typing a response to this forum.

    I am digging it. To bad it is my wife's phone. I have my tiny little screen S3. :D
     
  22. 3bs macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #22
    Seems like the international S3 has more dev support. Omega was an amazingly stable and smooth ROM and indie the developer responds to posts and requests.

    Sorry for the confusion guys! Hopefully anyone who went to the link I posted noticed it was for the S3 :p
     
  23. LIVEFRMNYC macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #23
    In this case the dev was pretty cool and explained he had other matters at hand. He did state he wil eventualy become more active again.
     
  24. siiip5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    #24
    I was gonna say that development fir the N American S3 is huge. XDA forums has tons of ROMs for our phone. Task and Ktoonzes AOKP ROM, CM10 and JellyBam are the 3 best and most stable imo. (4.1.x versions, not the new 4.2.x versions.)
     
  25. cheezeit macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #25
    There are some tweaks, if your rooted of course, that allows you to be able to make all apps work in multview ;)
     

Share This Page