AT&T seems to dumb down android phones, why?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by countrydweller, Mar 26, 2010.

  1. countrydweller macrumors 6502

    countrydweller

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #1
    So far it looks like AT&T is introducing android phones that have been dumbed down(so to speak). Do you think Apple has anything to do with this so the iPhone will be the best phone on their network? Maybe it's a deal between the two, to keep the iPhone exclusive to AT&T.
     
  2. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #2
    What do you mean?

    A lot of Android phones are stuck with 1.5 (instead of 2.0 or 2.1 like the new ones have) because they were first designed for it a year ago and simply can't run the new Android OS.

    Such is the trouble when the hardware and software come from different places.

    So if that's what you mean...no conspiracy. Sorry.

    (If it's not what you mean, you'll really have to be more specific.)
     
  3. countrydweller thread starter macrumors 6502

    countrydweller

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #3
    That's what I mean, it's quite possible IMO, they could've had better android phones if they wanted to. It looks like the AERO will also be limited by AT&T.
     
  4. Gix1k macrumors 68030

    Gix1k

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
  5. countrydweller thread starter macrumors 6502

    countrydweller

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #5
    They could've had a better processor(most likely), more up to date OS(most likely), let it run unsigned Android apps. No one knows for sure what the specs are, but it's looking like it won't be anything special.
     
  6. thetexan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    #6
    AT&T made their Android phone impossible to load applications outside of the market. Also, I think it isn't possible to "root" the Android phone AT&T sells. Is this due to Apple? Probably not. Remember when Verizon used to be the carrier that had its phones on complete lock down? Boy have things changed.
     
  7. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #7
    Not if they wanted to hit the price point they'd originally planned on.

    Starting over whenever new software comes out means you'll never have a product for sale. You can't keep throwing away designs because something better exists. You'll go broke making prototypes that you never sell.

    I'm sure they could, but that sounds like a typical carrier plan to make more money. Why does Apple have to have anything to do with that? Verizon has been doing stuff like that for years. Apple sure didn't have anything to do with them doing it.
     
  8. countrydweller thread starter macrumors 6502

    countrydweller

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #8
    Some want a phone they can play with, price isn't an option.


    The option is there, others managed to run the latest OS. Is AT&T able to do the same?



    Not sure Apple does have anything to do with it, just saying it's possible. Apple may not want a plethora of open source apps available to the android market of AT&T. Not sure where Verizon gets their ideas, but you're right it isn't Apple influencing them.
     
  9. CocoaPuffs macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #9
    Like others have already suggested, AT&T may have intended audience for introducing certain line of phones and the cost associating with them. Perhaps it has to do with it's exclusivity of iPhone, and perhaps it doesn't. Although it makes sense to offer a larger line of products from top to bottom, as oppose to offering a competing line of top end goods.
     
  10. mgamber macrumors 6502a

    mgamber

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Location:
    1966
    #10
    Actually, it probably is due to Apple...indirectly. What percentage of iPhone owners jailbreak? 10%? And Apple promises to make life miserable for those who do. That makes life easy for AT&T as fewer people are calling and complaining about how the phone is running slow, crashing, freezing and all the rest of it. It wouldn't surprise me if AT&T took notice and decided to start locking down everything the same way. It'll be interesting to see what the rest of AT&T's android line looks like and, later, WinMo7 phones. It certainly doesn't do much for the "open system" crowd, tho. Not that I really thought android was all that "open" to start with.
     
  11. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
  12. Rodimus Prime macrumors G4

    Rodimus Prime

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    #12
    My understanding is those limitation were from the makers.

    OS- That is motola and it motoblur set up and same with app limitation. It is not targeted at the geeks and the nerds out there but people who want to be really connected with social networking and motoblur is really good at that.

    Dell- my understanding is that set up from dell has been known for a long time. A long time before it was known what carrier it would be going to.

    The real question is when AT&T gets the good android phones like the Milestone and the ledge. I have a year to wait before I will really be looking at it since I can not upgrade until may 2011.
     
  13. MassiveAttack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Location:
    New York
    #13
    Yes but thankfully AT&T doesnt sell it or has any say of what type of software it runs, google is the one in charge.
     

Share This Page