AT&T subsidized iPhone swap for non-smartphone

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by ServiceTag, Apr 27, 2014.

  1. ServiceTag macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #1
    my iPhone 5 suddenly is not able to receive or make any calls.
    Apple offered me a replacement for $269+tax
    I'm not happy to pay that amount money for iP5 when new iP6 most likely be here in less than 1/2 year...

    However I'm wondering if I get new iP5s on ported line (using non-smart phone out of contract) of my family plan, then using it as a replacement of my non-functional iP5 be better option.
    Obviously this makes sense only if I can keep non-smartphone on ported line to avoiding extra charge for data plan.
    Does ATT going to allow this or once you buy smartphone then you going to pay data plan no matter what phone you using?
    TIA
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    If I understand your question, yes you'll have to pay for the data plan once you get a smartphone.
     
  3. zorinlynx macrumors 601

    zorinlynx

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #3
    If it can do other things, but not make/receive calls it may be a software issue.

    Have you tried resetting the phone (make a backup first of course)

    Also re-seat the SIM card.
     
  4. iZollo macrumors regular

    iZollo

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    #4
    What you can do is buy the iPhone 5s on there line signing 2 year contract and than cancel data and swap to your line and then keep the non smart phone on the line with the new 2 year contract. I do this every year to upgrade the iphone.
     
  5. ServiceTag, Apr 28, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2014

    ServiceTag thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #5
    Trust me I tried everything possible but no luck.
    I opened new thread about the details...
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1729834
     
  6. ServiceTag thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #6
    That's exactly what I was hoping for!
    Then is it OK just swap the sim from my non-working iPhone 5 to new 5s and keeping extra line with non-smart phone as is or do I have to do it in ATT store to avoid any troubles?
     
  7. hughiee macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    #7
    Yes do this at the AT&T store and ask for a cross upgrade.
     

Share This Page