AT&T U-verse Router

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by waffles123, May 1, 2009.

  1. waffles123 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    #1
    I just saw this article and I was wondering if it's possible to set it up with u-verse. I have u-verse (duh :p) and I have this router [​IMG] which is only 802.11 G. Is there a way I could use an Airport base station with U-verse so I could get dual-band wifi? Thanks.
     
  2. waffles123 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
  3. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #3
    If it has ethernet out (lan) then you can connect that to the lan port of an Aoirport Extreme (or Airport Express I think) and run the AEBS/AX in N mode. You just need to set the Airport to a different SSID, and only one of the routers can be setup as a DHCP server. Also, set them both to the same subnet. I basically did the same thing with my AEBS and a Linksys WRT54G router.
     
  4. waffles123 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    #4
    Does that mean I can have wireless N AND wireless G?
     
  5. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #5
    Yes, they show up as 2 separate networks.
     

Share This Page