AT&T Unlock: Want to Keep iOS 5.1.1

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by ohla313, Oct 4, 2012.

  1. ohla313 macrumors 6502a

    ohla313

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #1
    Hi All,

    Recently, AT&T authorized an Unlock for my iPhone 4. They said all I needed to do was backup and restore to have the unlock go through. The problem is that I would like to keep my current iOS version of 5.1.1. How would I go about doing this?
     
  2. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #2
    Do you need to switch Carriers right now? If not you don't have to restore and unlock yet. Otherwise you might be able to jailbreak 5.1.1, save the SSH blobs, restore to iOS 6, then use the blobs to restore back?

    Someone else chime in, but I think that would work.
     
  3. ohla313 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ohla313

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #3
    I plan to stick with AT&T. I wanted to have the 4 unlocked so when I sell it later I can get more for it and seeing as iOS 6 is not too desirable, I'd like to keep iOS 5 on it.
     
  4. drummingcraig macrumors 6502a

    drummingcraig

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    "Armpit of the South"
    #4
    Good question. I am in the same boat except that I am jailbroken on 5.1.1. I requested the AT&T unlock and got it, but I don't want to restore and end up with iOS6 (need to restore to 5.1.1 so I can re-jailbreak).
     
  5. Yell-O macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    #5
    I hear that if you just go into General > Reset > Reset Network Settings it'll make the unlock "work."
     
  6. ohla313 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ohla313

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #6
    But then how can you verify it worked?
     
  7. Yell-O macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    #7
    Pop in a T-Mobile sim, I'm not sure where to get them but if you got to a T-Mobile store they might help you check.
     
  8. Mliii macrumors 65816

    Mliii

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Location:
    Southern California
    #8
    This definitely works. You can get a T-Mob SIM online for 99¢ - or go into a store and tell them you want a Micro Sim for a pay as you go phone. They are about $7. if you add $10, it will give you 30 minutes worth of talk time so you can not only see that you are unlocked, but actually use it unlocked.
    I haven't checked these numbers in a while, but I think they are accurate or very close.
     
  9. Vetvito macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    #9
    When I did my unlock all I did was pop in the unrecognized sim and connect and disconnect iTunes and it worked. No backup or restore.
     
  10. LandonDonovan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #10
    But you need to have iTunes on your computer. If you're on the go, I'm not sure that you can do it without wiping out all the data, which can't be done with a JB.
     
  11. ohla313 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ohla313

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #11
    Any ideas?? I do have an external drive that is running Lion and has itunes 10.6.X on it. I also downloaded the IPSW for iOS 5.1.1. I just don't know the process I need to go through.
     
  12. spyguy10709 macrumors 6502a

    spyguy10709

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Location:
    One Infinite Loop, Cupertino CA
    #12
    You cannot restore to a not-current version of iOS unless you are jailbroken and have your blobs. If you don't know what this means - it's too late. Don't even bother looking. I'm not being harsh - but don't even bother googling it.

    Anywho - just do reset network settings. It does work. I just did it like 3 weeks ago.
     
  13. vistadude macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    #13
    You can restore to a non-current version of iOS. Just don't press the update button in itunes. Turn off wifi or unplug your ethernet cable, itunes won't be able to download the newest update.
     
  14. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #14
    Yeah no
     

Share This Page