AT&T VoLTE is finally enabled!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by imaginex20, Jul 22, 2015.

  1. imaginex20 macrumors 65816

    imaginex20

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #1
    Today I was talking to my wife and noticed the call quality very good. As I hardly ever talk over the phone it was a surprise to me. I then looked at the phone, low and behold, it said LTE...usually the calls are over 3G/4G.

    I am located in Norther Cali, so YMMV
     
  2. AndrewR23 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #2
    where in Norcal? Im in Sac right now, dont see it
     
  3. imaginex20 thread starter macrumors 65816

    imaginex20

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #3
    I'm in Stockton right now and it works here. I work in the east bay and works there too.
     
  4. AllergyDoc macrumors 65816

    AllergyDoc

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Location:
    Utah, USA
    #4
    I live in south Utah County, no tech Eden, and I've noticed crystal clear call quality for about 2 months now, when my wife calls. She has an iPhone 6 and I have a 6+. It's incredibly clear and crisp.
     
  5. Technarchy macrumors 603

    Technarchy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    #5
    Do they charge an activation fee to use it?
     
  6. dictoresno macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #6
    verizon doesnt, and doesnt count against your data either. just need to activate it on your account if it doesnt pick it up automatically.
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    Don't give them any ideas, they might do it:D
     
  8. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #8
    VoLTE wasn't enabled for AT&T until recently?
     
  9. imac9556 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
  10. truskowr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    California
    #10
    WOW! I just looked at the ATT coverage map again and most of the central coast and central valley is now covered by HD voice. When I looked last week, it was only in San Jose.
     
  11. solo118, Jul 23, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2015

    solo118 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    #11
    Maybe I am looking at the wrong map, but New York is not mentioned, but I prefer to see wifi calling enabled!
     
  12. rui no onna macrumors 601

    rui no onna

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    #12
    Alas, still no HD Voice in SoCal. I wonder why it's taking AT&T so long to roll out when Verizon had it available upon the iPhone 6's release.

    Also waiting for wifi calling from both AT&T and Verizon.
     
  13. Newtons Apple macrumors G5

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #13
    How would you know if you phone is running using the WIFi for calls?
     
  14. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #14
    AFAIK, it's going area to by area. We've had it in my part of VA for awhile now.
     
  15. rui no onna macrumors 601

    rui no onna

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    #15
    This is on T-Mobile:
    http://www.imore.com/how-turn-and-wi-fi-calling-ios-8

    Given no such option exists as of yet on my Verizon and AT&T iPhones even with the latest carrier updates, I'm assuming the feature is not yet available.
     
  16. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    For Att do you need to be on the latest iOS version for volte to work?
    Not like I talk on the phone much but figured I'd ask:)
     
  17. MuGeN PoWeR macrumors 68000

    MuGeN PoWeR

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    #17
    thats strange i dont notice any crystal clear quality. i am also in Utah.
     
  18. geoff5093 macrumors 68000

    geoff5093

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    Dover, NH
    #18
    Who is your carrier? AT&T doesn't have WiFi calling yet.
     
  19. AutoUnion39 macrumors 601

    AutoUnion39

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #19
    I only notice the huge jump in quality when calling other AT&T VoLTE customers or T-Mobile users. Calling VZW users on VoLTE seems to be hit or miss.
     
  20. MuGeN PoWeR macrumors 68000

    MuGeN PoWeR

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    #20
    okay. i dont think 5s supports VoLTE. my wife uses that. i will report once she gets the new 6s.
     

Share This Page