AT&T VOLTE live in socal

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by PharmDoc, Dec 9, 2015.

  1. PharmDoc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    #1
    could be old news but just noticed VoLTE when making a call in south oc.
     
  2. bpeeps macrumors 68020

    bpeeps

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    #2
    How'd you notice?
     
  3. PharmDoc thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    #3
    Accidentally. Just was making a call and noticed LTE still on. I thought something was wrong with the phone and hung up and tried again and it was still on.
     
  4. CaCHooKa Man macrumors member

    CaCHooKa Man

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #4
    It went live a couple months ago during the first 2 weeks of October
     
  5. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #5
    Is this something new or even recent? Seems like it's been around since iPhone 6, hasn't it?
     
  6. gsmornot macrumors 68030

    gsmornot

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #6
    The ability yes, the coverage no. It takes a while for all the towers to be upgraded to provide the service.
     
  7. VforVelveta macrumors regular

    VforVelveta

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    #7
    AT&Ts expansion has been pretty aggressive over the past month or so, probably close to 2/3 of the US covered at this point. The difference in call quality is pretty stark to my ears, noticed it immediately after getting on a call when it rolled out a few weeks back.
     
  8. Bhs1975 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
  9. bpeeps macrumors 68020

    bpeeps

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    #9
    I guess I was unaware that it displayed anything differently during a call. I just googled it used to show 4G. Cool news.
     
  10. Hal~9000 macrumors 68000

    Hal~9000

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    #10
    Do you have to do anything to your AT&T account to activate VOLTE calls?

    I thought I read somewhere that a certain SIM card was required, along w/ making a change to your AT&T account.
     
  11. PharmDoc thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    #11
    No. I didn't. It should be automatic.
     
  12. superevangelist1 macrumors member

    superevangelist1

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #12
    As long as "voice and data over LTE" is turned on it'll be automatic when coverage is available.
     
  13. knownikko macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #13
    I had my first call go through a week or so ago. Very apparent, like night and day.
     
  14. AutoUnion39 macrumors 601

    AutoUnion39

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

Share This Page