Carrier AT&T Wifi Calling + 6s, 6s+

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by bendrumin, Sep 25, 2015.

  1. bendrumin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    #1
    Just a heads up, wifi calling will not work now that you have a new phone, it was tied to the device itself. I'm seeing if going to my 9.1 beta fixes it but just a heads up.
     
  2. AlliFlowers Contributor

    AlliFlowers

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    L.A. (Lower Alabama)
    #2
    WiFi calling has not been approved for AT&T by the FAA, so you will not get it if you are using something other than the original phone you ran your beta on.
     
  3. export800 macrumors newbie

    export800

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #3
    Initially I was able to activate and turn on Wifi calling for AT&T on my iPhone 6s Plus (tmobile unlocked model) using my old iPhone 6 Plus sim. However I ended up resetting the phone a few other times to get my settings just right. On the last time I was unable to activate Wifi calling, as AT&T had picked up the IMEI change.

    Got my sim in my old phone and going to try to reactivate wifi calling again, then switch it over to my new phone. Hopefully this should work like it did initially. It's just taking AT&T awhile to realize I'm back on my old 6 Plus. :(
     
  4. BrettDS macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Location:
    Orlando
    #4
    I'm on the 9.1 beta on my 6S Plus and I had no trouble enabling ATT wifi calling.
     
  5. cornycopier macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    #5
    Ditto. Enabled with no problem on a completely different phone. Originally iPhone 6. Earlier today on iPhone 6s Plus. No problem.
     
  6. WJKramer, Sep 25, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2015

    WJKramer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    #6
    LOL. The FAA? It's a technology. Not an airplane. (I know what you meant).
     
  7. AlliFlowers Contributor

    AlliFlowers

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    L.A. (Lower Alabama)
    #7
    Oh dear. I think my memory for abbreviations has finally gone FUBAR!
     
  8. Orien macrumors regular

    Orien

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #8
    Not true. I had AT&T Wi-Fi calling on my 6, and I still have it on my 6s+ (no SIM swap). It's probably tied to your number on AT&T's end.
     
  9. Roller macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #9
    But will Wi-Fi calling work on airplanes?
     
  10. Orien macrumors regular

    Orien

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #10
    Unless providers like Gogo explicitly block that traffic, it would. No idea if they do or don't.
     
  11. FloridaGary macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    #11
    This is correct accept for the FAA reference but we all know what she meant.
     
  12. Orien macrumors regular

    Orien

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #12
    Except that's not correct. I am running it on a new 6s+.
     
  13. darkarw, Sep 26, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2015

    darkarw macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    #13
    I called AT&T and spoke to them about this. It is turned on in certain markets and not in others yet, the rep specifically said it was turned on in Chicago, but they were awaiting final approval from the FCC to turn it on everywhere. Once activated they stated that HD Voice, or Voice over LTE should also be activated for iPhone 6 and 6S customers as well.


    Edit.... He did say that Chicago was not the only city with it activated.
     
  14. Lobwedgephil macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
  15. jetjaguar Suspended

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #15
    ugh just tried to enable it and no go .. not available yet
     
  16. bizzy045 macrumors 6502

    bizzy045

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    #16
    Not available in the Dallas Fort Worth area yet either.
     
  17. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #17
    HD Voice/VoLTE has worked on iPhone 6/6+ for many months, as long as you're in an area where it's active.
     
  18. zmon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #18
    Not available yet in Baton Rouge. Tried on a 6S and a 6+ on two different lines.
     
  19. tivoboy macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    #19
    most block most protocols, but try a VPN.. I can usually get most voip calling to work when using a VPN..skype, ooma, hangouts, facetime audio.
     
  20. Orien macrumors regular

    Orien

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #20
    Yep. All separate things.

    And you can have VoLTE without HD voice.
     
  21. ohio.emt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #21
    Did you setup the new iPhone using a backup from the old iPhone?
     
  22. Mr. Zarniwoop macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #22
    I just tried it in Chicago, on AT&T, and it says "Wi-Fi Calling is not yet available. It will be coming soon."
     
  23. darkarw macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    #23

    Fair enough, I live in KY but that is what the AT&T Rep told me. I wonder if it has to the do the with FCC delay, I actually called about it before the 16th, I had updated to the GM and it popped up on my phone so I called about it. He said it would be turned on, on the 16th when iOS 9 when live to the public. Like I said though I don't live anywhere close to the area.
     
  24. Orien macrumors regular

    Orien

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #24
    Yes. It was turned off though after the restore, and I turned it back on.
     
  25. PTVMan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #25
    Does wifi calling only work on beta iOS? It's working on my 6s+ running beta but not on my wife's 6+ running 9.0.1.
     

Share This Page