At what point does IQ precede handling?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by charpi, Jun 10, 2013.

1. charpi macrumors regular

Hello, I've been wondering at what purposes does handling become more important than image quality? (Of course, this is subjective). Coming from a Sigma DP2M user, famed for it's sluggishness but legendary IQ with great micro-detail, I have felt image quality must be obtained at the expense of everything. Just bear in mind that I am no way pro, just a hobbyist.

Recently, I was thinking about the purpose of my photos - not to print, but rather to just capture great moments and put them on my personal website, or put them on websites for others. (I often volunteer to be the photographer for any company events so they can put the pics on their site).

With this purpose, I'm quite sure that any photographs viewed online will be max viewed 2880-1800 (retina) resolution. And viewed by people who are non critical about microcontrast, etc etc. Therefore, I feel that in my case, handling (speed of AF, burst mode FPS for action shots, etc) matter more.

Here's what I feel what matters and what doesn't:

Matters
    - Speed of lens - allows shallower DOF, this is easily noticeable, also helps in low light
    - Quality of Bokeh - same as the above, easily noticeable
    - Long exposure bulb mode (my DP2M only has 30s, I wanted to do deep space photog but can't)

Does not matter as much
    - Megapixels (maybe only for cropping purposes)
    - APSC v Full Frame - If we can just get a faster lens with equivalent range for APSC, the FF one it should look quite similar
    - Microdetails - I used to use photo comparison tools to compare super micro details and choose the camera with better IQ, but I'm not so sure now.