At what point does the iP4 upgrade process on your AT&T account

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by iEric4, Jul 22, 2010.

1. iEric4 macrumors member

Hi I'm a newbie and had this question for u guys...

I know apple/ATT checks ur upgrade eligibility before you can order the iphone 4 but at what point does it actually "upgrade" your account and add another two years?

1. is it as soon as you place the order?
    2. when the phone is shipped?
    3. when you activate the iP4 in itunes?

I was just wondering if there was any way around this. I'm guessing the upgrade is tied to the sim card that comes in the box when its shipped or something right? because ppl could just buy a brand new iP4 from craigslist without upgrading...

So what i was thinking was going to att and getting a new sim card and activating the iP4 with that one instead of the one that comes in the box. Would that work to make iTunes think its just a new phone and not an upgrade?

Hopefully someone can explain to me how it works....
    Thanks!

2. maturola macrumors 68040

maturola

Your contract start counting the day you "activate" your phone, on the store or in Itunes (when you activate your phone you agree to a 2 year contract), when you buy a phone from eBay/CL, etc, you are not required to agree to this contract, AT&T just assign the phone ID to your account (and no change happen to your current contract status)

Now you are LOCKED to the contract 30 days after you signed it, you can cancel your service (and return the phone) during that period without any penalties (you only paid for your usage).

3. samcraig macrumors P6

you will not be able to cheat ATT.

4. b-rad g macrumors 6502a

b-rad g

This is what I get when I check upgrade elligibility.....

"As a valued AT&T customer, you may be eligible for a standard upgrade on this line, with reduced equipment pricing when signing a 2-year commitment. Click 'Upgrade Eligibility' to view your upgrade options. "