ATH-M50X - horn players using for tracking/mixing?

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by jazzer15, Jan 1, 2015.

1. jazzer15 macrumors 6502

These cans have gotten a lot of good reviews, but most of what I see are from people who are using them primarily for listening purposes. I was wondering if some people here are using them as home studio phones for tracking while recording themselves and for mixing. I am a hobbyist and will be using them for recording saxophone. Of course I may use them for listening also on occasion, but that would not be their main purpose.

I am also curious how they might compare to the Sony 7506 (which seem to be the standard) and to the Sennheiser HD 280 in terms of sound and comfort.

2. jakesaunders27 macrumors 6502a

jakesaunders27

I don't own any but have listened to them before and they are probably not the best choice for production as they are slightly bass heavy and don't have a flat response, but some people can't work with flat headphones and like a bit of bottom end its personal choice I think.

3. jenre macrumors member

I bought a pair of these recently, actually. The bass is definitely a little strong, but as long as you're aware of that you can EQ to minimise that if you feel the need. I don't think it would really be a major issue for tracking though, only really if you were using them to mix (which I wouldn't recommend anyway).

They are very comfortable to wear too!

4. Alimar macrumors 6502a

Alimar

I use the previous model ATH M50 (hard-wired coiled cord, same audio specs) for recording and mixing (and listening). These headphones are designed for studio production. Excellent sound.

5. jazzer15 thread starter macrumors 6502