ATI 15.7.1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jesush1234, Aug 12, 2015.

  1. jesush1234 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    #1
    Hi everyone;

    I am trying to install the newly released ATI 15.7.1 on my nMP (Dual D700) with no success running Windows 8.1 (Boot Camp)

    I have tried to follow several guides replacing the Bin64 folder with the Omega Bin64 as well as replacing the 15.7.1 Boot Camp installmanager.exe and installmanager.dll with the stock bootcamp files.

    I am trying to do this as a clean driver install. (I have removed all Display Drivers using the Guru3d Tool)

    Any Ideas or suggestions?

    Thanks

    Regards
    Jesus H.
     
  2. haralds macrumors 6502

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #2
    You might try Windows 10 and Boot Camp 6. Windows 10 forces its own key drivers and on my MacBook Pro, Apple let Windows update the nVidia by Windows 10 after the Boot Camp 6 upgrade.

    Windows 10 uses ATI Radeon 15.7.1
     
  3. jesush1234 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    #3
    The only way I could get this working is using the following steps:

    1.- Create Windows Install USB and download the latest Boot Camp software using the mac Boot Camp utility
    2.- Clean Install Windows 10
    3.- Install Boot Camp support software and restart. (You will notice that the AMD Panel is FirePro, driver reads 15.20 and in Device manager my graphic cards show as D700's
    4.- Remove the Display driver software using the Guru 3D (Display Driver Uninstaller)
    5.- Update Windows 10 completely using Windows Update and restart

    6.- Download the latest 15.7.1 Catalyst Drivers from the AMD site (Windows 7x64 are the only working ones)
    - Run the Installer and it will fail due to unsupported hardware (NO PROBLEM)
    - Navigate to your "C:" drive and you will find there the extracted AMD software suite
    - Then Navigate to the Packages/Drivers/Display/WT6A_INF/
    - Right click on the .inf file that says Install and click Install, screen will flicker, after you can verify that the graphic cards no longer show as D700's in Device Manager

    7.- Download the latest 15.7.1 Windows 10x64 from the AMD site (Windows 10x64 version this time!)
    - Run the Installer and it will fail due to unsupported hardware (NO PROBLEM)
    - Navigate to "C:\AMD\AMD-Catalyst-15.7.1-Win10-64bit\Packages\Apps\CCC2\Core-Static-Net4" (This will install the ATI CCC)
    - Restart and Voila

    Hope it works for you!!
     
  4. Diviton macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2015
    #4
    To solve this problem the most elegant way is to modify only one config file.

    Config/InstallManager.cfg

    You just need to add the following line:
    EnableFalcon=true
     
  5. jesush1234 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    #5
    Hello;

    Could you please specify which problem do we solve with the "EnableFalcon" Line?

    Thanks!
     
  6. Diviton macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2015
    #6
    To install any official AMD released driver pack on your mac. It gets rid of the "unsupported hardware" error message.

    Actually this ( EnableFalcon ) is the key difference between the AMD and Apple branded driver packs.
     
  7. Khyrios macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    #7

    I am speechless.... it really runs the installer without "unsupported hardware"...
    after more than one year working around missing Mac Pro driver this is working...
     
  8. Daniel15 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    #8
    It did not work for me , can you elaborate on how you did it please!!
     
  9. jesush1234 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    #9
    The "enable falcon" only allows the installer to proceed, however it doesn't install the driver...

    The only way i managed to get it working is using my guide in the first post.
     
  10. Khyrios macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    #10
    Indeed the display driver was´t first installed, but strange enough there was a new FirePro Control and Audio driver installed. Also the Crossfire presets were empty ( never realized they are installed with the display driver, always thought they are part of CCC ).
    My error message was no new driver found - maybe just because the installer recognized the D300 and found no ID match.
    So I removed the bootcamp driver with DDU first and this time the display driver was installed...
     
  11. Mikael S macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2015
    #11
    I can not get the EnableFalcon=true to work with the 15.8 beta.

    nMP, D700

    I edited in notepad the InstallManager.cfg file in the config folder and added the EnableFalcon=true line.

    Still get the unsupported hardware error..

    What could I be doing wrong? I tried with DDU first to uninstall the old driver.

    Anyone else got this to work?
     
  12. Redneck1089 macrumors 65816

    Redneck1089

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    #12
    Well I just updated to the 15.8 beta. Not much change to be honest. The damn computer still won't restart properly - I always have to do a hard shut down unless I disable Crossfire X (which sometimes freezes the computer anyways). The Witcher 3 is still a mess and unplayable with Crossfire enabled. Far Cry 4 doesn't seem to want to work at all now with Crossfire either, although there is less texture issues compared to before. IMO it's a waste of time - just stick to 15.7.1.

    If you really want to get it going, completely remove 15.7.1 using GURU3d DDU, then either use Apple's drivers to get the device id for the D700s, or use the old beta Windows 10 drivers for the R9 200/7900 series from here: http://download.windowsupdate.com/c..._b2ce63c3b2599357761fd456eb46f60b79e964f6.cab

    Use 7-Zip to extract the .cab Windows drivers downloaded from the link above. Then go into Device Manager and point your display devices to the extracted driver. Your D700s will then be registered as a R9 200/7900 Series device.

    Now download AMD CCC 15.8 and try to install it. It will fail. From there go to C:\AMD\AMD-Catalyst-15.8 beta-Win10-64bit\Packages\Apps\CCC2\Core-Static-Net4. Now scroll to the bottom of the list until you see ccc-core-static.msi setup exe. Install it.

    Now CCC will be installed.

    Restart your computer and open CCC. CrossfireX will now be there.



    Again, I haven't found this helps with the restart problem or framerate problems in certain games. It isn't worth it, IMO.
     
  13. Sinx2oic macrumors regular

    Sinx2oic

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #13

    I m trying to get the 15.8 beta or the 15.91 beta working but can't. Been playing Mad Max and crossfire seems unstable with the windows 10 drivers and want to see if 15.8 or 9 fixes anything.

    I'm tring to follow your instructions.. When you say go into device manager and point your display devices to the extracted driver, I'm not sure how to do this. I click on Display adapters then mine are called AMD FirePro D700. which option do I use to redirect, Update Driver?

    Thanks :)
     

Share This Page