ATI 4870 1GB For Mac Pro on eBay

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by POLOgt, Mar 27, 2009.

  1. POLOgt macrumors member

    POLOgt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #1
    I am very interested in this card.
    My 2600 works well, but a 4870 would be a great improvement on my 30"

    So after searching around to see if there might be a good price on one I came across this:
    eBay.com ATI Radeon HD 4870 1GB Graphics Card For Mac Pro 3870

    I am very curious to how stable it would be and how much of a performance gain the 1GB model could be in OSX.
    I was considering installing XP in bootcamp to help out my performance with Solid Edge, I am currently using it in Parallels and the rendering is hurting.

    Any ideas or suggestions on this?
    Thanks,
     
  2. macz1 macrumors 6502

    macz1

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #2
    still, no VGA output. What a pity. I was hoping someone figured out how to get the analog output working...
     
  3. POLOgt thread starter macrumors member

    POLOgt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #3
    No recommendations?

    In the 4870 threads, I just see 512MB versions being flashed.
     
  4. shinchan72 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #4
    It's not a real one , as in it's simply a PC Radeon someone has hacked into a Mac one.

    Nothing wrong with that but if you're going to go the hacked route why not just buy a PC one and do it yourself ?
     
  5. Topper macrumors 65816

    Topper

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    #5
    Just add a DVI to VGA cable or adapter, right? Wrong?
     
  6. POLOgt thread starter macrumors member

    POLOgt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #6
    I understood that ;),
    I wanted the dual DVI that is why I am looking at flashed versions,
    I was also curious to hear some feedback on the 1GB Ram models worked well after getting flashed?

    Thanks,
     
  7. ajn946 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #7
    would there be any issues with running a card like this, anything at all (stability etc) as I am going to purchase a new machine and want to run 2 displays but dont like the idea of an adapter (which costs >$100)?

    Cheers
     
  8. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #8
    Only issues with flashed cards are lack of VGA (analog) signal.

    So they can't be used with older CRT Tube displays.
     
  9. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #9
    The thing that's troubling me the most right now is that Mac Pros with flashed 4870s can't boot with the latest Snow Leopard Install Disc. Hopefully, this will not be the case when the final Snow Leopard lands.

    Less troubling is the Link Speed at 2.5 GT/s. Since the cards seem to be running at full speed, this is a small issue.
     
  10. ajn946 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #10
    Great. Thanks for reply.

    I have no idea when it comes to flashing etc; as people progressively work on this are you able to update the card I guess like firmware, or once it has been done thats it?

    It is just so annoying that you need 2 cards to run two normal cinema displays. So annoying.
     
  11. POLOgt thread starter macrumors member

    POLOgt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #11
  12. ajn946 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #12
  13. POLOgt thread starter macrumors member

    POLOgt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #13
    You will not need the Dual-Link adapter unless you are running two 30"
    You should be able to use the $30 USD adapter to run 20" or 23" LCDs.

    Also you can use an older 2600 if you have an extra,
     

Share This Page