ATI 5770 and Quadro 4000 together?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by macneuro, Jun 29, 2011.

  1. macneuro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    #1
    I am trying to marry an ATI 5770 in my Mac pro (10.6.8) with quadro 4000 for Mac (cuda driver 4.0.19). The quadro 4000 replaces the GT 120, which was working fine with 2 30’ displays and ATI 5770.

    The problem is the Q4000 does not detect a display. If I put just one display attached to Q4000 and then turn on the machine, after boot up then plug 2nd display into the ati 5770 I get both displays.
    NVIDIA Quadro 4000:

    Chipset Model: NVIDIA Quadro 4000
    Type: GPU
    Bus: PCIe
    Slot: Slot-2
    PCIe Lane Width: x16
    VRAM (Total): 2048 MB
    Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)
    Device ID: 0x06dd
    Revision ID: 0x00a3
    ROM Revision: 3581
    Displays:
    Display:
    Resolution: 2560 x 1600
    Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
    Main Display: Yes
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Display Connector:

    and
    ATI Radeon HD 5770:

    Chipset Model: ATI Radeon HD 5770
    Type: GPU
    Bus: PCIe
    Slot: Slot-1
    PCIe Lane Width: x16
    VRAM (Total): 1024 MB
    Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
    Device ID: 0x68b8
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    ROM Revision: 113-C0160C-155
    EFI Driver Version: 01.00.436
    Displays:
    DELL U3011:
    Resolution: 2560 x 1600 @ 60 Hz
    Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
    Display Serial Number: PH5NY0BM366L
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Rotation: Supported
    Display Connector:
    Status: No Display Connected
    Display Connector:
    Status: No Display Connected
     
  2. julioleon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #2
    Did it worked?

    Hi, I just find myself in the same situation. I have a 5770 and just bought a Q4000 to run Smoke. Were you able to run both cards? Do you get any speed gain?
     
  3. macchiato2009 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    #3
    it usually detects all installed hardware, but if you have 2 different video cards, both won't be used

    only when you have 2 identical cards with SLI / crossfire, compatible with MP
     
  4. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #4
    Nonsense & dreck.

    The current supported config for DaVinci Resolve is 5770 & Quadro 4000, so if they don't work together, somebody better tell BMD.

    If you are running pre-lion software, you need the special Quadro drivers from Nvidia.

    Lion contains drivers for it.

    If that isn't issue, you need to list which monitors you are using and how you are connecting.
     
  5. julioleon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #5
    Well I have a LED cinema display 24" (mini display) and a Panasonic plasma 50" (dvi) as a Broadcast Monitor. Actually the 5770 functions better than the Q4000 under Smoke.
     
  6. adrjork macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    #6
    Hi guys, I have 3 doubts:

    1. to run Smoke on MacPro, which is the best GPU solution:
    A. Two identical 5770s?
    B. Two identical Quadro4000s?

    2. Is SLI/crossfire supported by Smoke in Mac?

    3. Two identical cards are sufficient to color-grade 2K uncompressed file in Smoke on Mac?

    Thanks a lot.
     
  7. Asgorath macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #7
    The Quadro 4000 support is way better in Lion that it was in SnowLeopard. Is there any reason you need to stick with SnowLeopard?
     
  8. adrjork macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    #8
    No, I would go for Lion! But does Smoke on Lion support a pair of identical Quadro4000?
     
  9. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #9
    SLI/crossfire is unsupported with OSX in general.

    Edit: bleck I didn't note this was a necroed thread and a very old post.
     
  10. Asgorath macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #10
    No, your setup should work just fine. I would just update to the latest OS you can (Lion or Mountain Lion) in order to get a new driver for the Quadro 4000. The driver for SnowLeopard is ancient these days.
     

Share This Page