ATI 5770 memory is maxed out all the time.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by GXPvince, Apr 8, 2013.

  1. GXPvince macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    #1
    Via iStat Menus 3 my memory usage on the video card is always maxed- After restart, after PRAM reset, still maxed. Is there a way to reset it?

    Or a way to check the memory usage besides iStat?
     
  2. brentsg macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
  3. GXPvince thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    #3
    I don't think so. Still getting 60+ fps on League of legends- PS is pretty smooth on effects that utilize the card
     
  4. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #4
    I found this when playing Skyrim on my 5870 too but remember - just because the memory is maxed out doesn't necessarily mean the game will be unplayable. The card will have some form of memory management.

    As the VRAM usage approaches a threshold, less-used textures will be dropped off. This does cause extra work for the card, especially if the textures need to be brought back from the regular RAM over PCIE to the card.

    When I changed my 5870 1Gb for a 7950 3Gb I found that on exactly the same settings and textures, Skyrim was actually using just over 2Gb of VRAM. It obviously didn't have to swap the textures in and out of VRAM any more and so the framerate was steadier. As a result I was able to increase the detail levels and even look at ENB visual effects. Currently I am still able to play the game at a fairly steady 60fps at 1440p with about 2.4Gb reported as used on the card.
     
  5. ticotoo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    #5
    gpu memory maxed

    http://bjango.com/help/istatmenus4/knownissues/
    Known issues
    GPU shows 100% memory usage
    OS X 10.8 introduced changes for some AMD graphics cards that means memory usage isn’t reported correctly. At this point we believe it is a driver issue and one we can’t fix at our end, unfortunately.
     
  6. benwiggy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #6
    More examples of why you shouldn't continually monitor every aspect of your hardware if everything is working fine. :D
     
  7. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #7
    Yeah, monitoring VRAM usage is tricky anyways. The OS has VRAM management that will continuously swap things in and out depending on the current app.
     

Share This Page