ATI.com Lists XFX 5850 for Mac?!?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jsurpless, Aug 17, 2010.

  1. jsurpless macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    #1
    I happened to be poking around on ATI's site and I came across an XFX Radeon 4850 under their 'Mac' section...

    XFX Radeon 5850 for Mac

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. kbonnel macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    In a nice place..
    #2
    Hmm, would be nice. But it is the 5850 that comes up.
     
  3. jsurpless thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    #3
    Oops... I can't type... I meant to type 5850 in the link...

    Having corrected that - what's up with that? Could it actually work?
     
  4. kbonnel macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    In a nice place..
    #4
    I bet it is a mistake on the website.

    K
     
  5. strausd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
  6. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #6
    i say bug/mistake since the link points to a PC card, but hey you never know.
     
  7. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    I'm pretty sure it's a bug. I noticed it last week when I was trying to find the Mac Pro cables on their store. As Cindori said, the card is a PC card if you look at the details.
     
  8. jsurpless thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    #8
    That's what I was looking for... were you able to find the power cables?
     
  9. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
  10. iDisk macrumors 6502a

    iDisk

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Location:
    Menlo Park, CA
    #10
    Ummm it's definitely NOT a typo or ATI bug. It clearly says FOR MAC guys and gals c'mon :)
     
  11. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #11
    No but I didn't look too hard since I found people selling them for about $10 delivered on eBay.
     
  12. jsurpless thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    #12
    OK, saw those too... thanks
     
  13. iDisk macrumors 6502a

    iDisk

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Location:
    Menlo Park, CA
    #13
    :eek: really! Wow thanks :)
     
  14. seek3r macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    #14
    I'm emailing AMD now, if that card does indeed have an out-of-box apple compatible rom for ~$300 street (newegg link) that solves what my next graphics card is. It's funny, earlier in the day I was wondering if anyone had gotten a 5850 flashed for mac pro use yet :p
     
  15. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #15
    Well whatever page it was linked to before, now it says it's for the Mac on the linked page as well…

    I guess it's another option!
     
  16. maghemi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    #16
    If you go through to the pages of the listed suppliers. They all link to PC versions of the card with no mention about MAC's at all.

    It's an error.
     
  17. seek3r macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    #17
    Unless those cards include the right roms for usage in both and the resellers just dont have that listed.... (the exact model for the XFX is actually not listed on XFX's site that I can find, ...-ZAFC)

    /hey, a guy can hope!
     
  18. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #18
    we already can do 5850 for macpro, they are not much different from 5870

    it jsut better to wait for first 5770/5870 macpro rom to make new roms
     
  19. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #19
    pretty sure ati folks have a dropdown list or something to choose between Mac or PC when adding a new card to their website, prob. easy to misclick

    also that card is not reference card.

    its mistake
     
  20. seek3r macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    #20
    Well, looks like you're right. I just called AMD (since their support form keeps bouncing back "unregistered email address" at me). Pursued it up the line a couple rungs till I got to a tech who went something to the order of: "yeah... this doesn't have an internal number that would indicate mac compatibility, nor is it a standard card... nope. I'll contact our web people to fix this".

    So much for that :(
     
  21. XenoPhex macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #21
    Actually, this is funny, I was going to ask a question about this a few days ago. When I called the local apple store, the guy on the phone said they supported various 5000 series cards, so he saw no reason that wouldn't be supported. So I have no idea if it actually works or not.
     
  22. seek3r macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    #22
    Without the right rom (which, hopefully, will be available courtesy of modification of the 5770s and 5870s in the new pros) the card won't work under OSX. The possible attraction of this card was that it might *ship* with an appropriate compatible rom, unfortunately that's not the case :-(
     

Share This Page