ATI Crossfire in Mac for windows? does it work?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by GMink, Feb 24, 2010.

  1. GMink macrumors regular

    GMink

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #1
    I recently upgraded my video to an HD4870 so I could game again in my windows boot.

    Just curious if having 2x 4870's would cause any problems in OSX, I wouldn't think that crossfire would work in OSX SL but I may be wrong. Don't mind if it would only work with windows.

    The only thing I see I would need would be a Y splitter for the PCIe power cables.

    If I have the two cards installed with the crossfire bridge and one monitor per card any issues there?
     
  2. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #2
    You can use Crossfire under Windows, but it won't work under OS X. AFAIK if you had two 4870s installed (which Spanky Deluxe does... did?) you can use them both, but the machine will use them as two separate cards, same as if you had two GT 120s or HD2600s or whatnot.
     
  3. GMink thread starter macrumors regular

    GMink

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #3
    In OSX they would be used as individual cards, but in windows boot they would be recognized as being in crossfire config?
     
  4. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #4
    I believe so.

    Anyone who's used two 4870s/4890s under OS X in parallel want to comment here?
     
  5. GMink thread starter macrumors regular

    GMink

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #5
    I've searched the forum and it seems that this should work. I just want to confirm that the monitors will work correctly each attached to a differnet card. I'm sure in OSX this is fine, not sure under windows and crossfire.

    George
     
  6. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #6
    That isn't an issue – I've had two GPUs (though different models) in my Mac Pro at the same time, with one monitor on each, and that worked fine.
     
  7. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    I've read that the Apple OEM 4870s have Crossfire disabled, which means even if you have two installed it won't work in Windows.
     

Share This Page