Ati hd 2600 xt not working with original firmware

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by superg3, Nov 28, 2010.

  1. superg3 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    #1
    Hi all,

    Congrats for this great forum!

    I'm a 2008 Mac Pro owner with an ATI 2600 XT.
    After reading this forum I decided to flash the GPU to experiment.

    1-First I backup the original "MAC" Firmware with GPU-Z.
    2-I burned a Bootable XP CD with Atiflash tool and the Mac and Pc firmwares.
    3-Flashed the GPU with PC bios.

    At this point I can boot in Windows 7 partition ok. Obviously not in OS X.

    4- Booted again with the Bootable CD and flashed the GPU with the backed up original Mac firmware.

    I suposed that I could boot again on Os X, but not.

    Now I can see only video when I boot from the bootable XP cd. I can not boot on the windows 7 partition because I don't have video on startup and cant select the windows partition...

    I have two questions:

    ¿do you know why Mac Pro doesn't recognize the GPU if I flashed it again with the original Mac firmware?

    As I have not video on start up, ¿do you know some way to force Mac Pro to boot from windows 7 partition?

    Thank you very much for your Help
     

    Attached Files:

  2. superg3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
  3. rtrt, Nov 28, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2011
  4. superg3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    #4
    Thank you rtrt.

    I've tried with arrows and enter but no success. :(
     
  5. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    I'm confused… did you flash your Mac card to a non-EFI firmware? :confused:
     
  6. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
  7. superg3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    #7
    Yes, but after I flashed it with the original EFI.
     
  8. superg3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    #8
    I can't do it. I don't have video output, and if I try it the system doesn,t start.
     
  9. rtrt, Nov 29, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2011
  10. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #10
    You could try flashing it with EFI again, but I'm thinking the backup you made is incomplete (protected portion in the ROM was never copied, then re-written during the PC BIOS flash). So when you tried to flashing the EFI firmware back, that missing data is causing it to fail during the OS X boot process. :(

    Assuming this is the case, you've killed it. :eek: You could see if a Genius at the Apple Store could restore the firmware properly, as it's worth a shot before going out and getting a new card. But you may not have a choice.

    Sorry it's not better news.
     
  11. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #11
    nano, it's not that easy to kill the card by flashing it ;) Luckily we have TME ROMs database (endless THX for all Strangedogs squad).

    OP, flash your card with this ROM and you should be fine.
     
  12. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #12
    I'm under the impression the 2600XT was an OEM card for Apple (not available through 3rd party retail channels), so it seemed reasonable to me that such a situation is possible (i.e. different start address <offset> than what ATI would normally have used for the PC versions).

    I just don't recall ATI graphics cards being available in non-Apple owned/controlled retail channels until the 3870.
     

Share This Page