ati hd5770 showing incorrect?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Baby Jai, Jul 22, 2011.

  1. Baby Jai macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Location:
    NJ
    #1
    why is this showing the wrong graphic card installed?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    It is telling you the family or series of card in that display as there is no hd5000 video card but there is that family/series of them same as I would imagine it would show hd4000 or hd6000 if you one had of theirs installed.
     
  3. Baby Jai thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Location:
    NJ
    #3
    ok next question everytime i try to launch a game i get an exception error, im really starting to believe its the card, this is a 5770 but its not the one from mac, do you think that is what can be causing my problems?
     
  4. minifridge1138 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #4
    That is kind of odd.

    I have 2 cards, and It shows their actual model numbers: GeForce GT 120 and ATI Radeon HD 5870.
     
  5. Baby Jai thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Location:
    NJ
    #5
    ok i thought it was just me, so what should i do?
     
  6. minifridge1138 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #6
    I didn't know you had a non-apple card.

    I would guess that's the problem.

    Did you flash it with an apple EFI rom, or are you using it out of the box?

    I'm just guessing, but I'd bet the apple EFI rom is why my card was identified.
     
  7. Baby Jai thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Location:
    NJ
    #7
    how would i go about flashing it? its from my old comp and i assumed since it HAS THE EXACT same specss as the ATI from their website it would go good, which it is except im having issues now. as stating here

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1195351
     

Share This Page