ati radeon 4870 *adapter bought, having trouble*

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by sparkie1984, Feb 20, 2010.

  1. sparkie1984 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Location:
    a small village near London
    #1
    hi guys.....

    im thinking of using my mac pro as a htpc as well as other uses.....

    i have my apple display connected via mini display port...... will it also output dvi too? at the same time i mean? as im thinking of getting a dvi-hdmi converter and using it via plex to display my films!

    any advice would be awesome! :)
     
  2. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #2
    If you're asking if you can have two displays connected simultaneously, sure. The ACD via MDP, and to the TV via a DVI-HDMI adapter and HDMI cable.
     
  3. sparkie1984 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Location:
    a small village near London
    #3
    thats exactly what im asking mackilroy thanks :)
     
  4. sparkie1984 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Location:
    a small village near London
    #4
    Adapter Now Bought!!

    i went out and bought a dvi-hdmi adapter....

    does anyone know why my tv is now flickering? it shows the desktop fine etc but the screen sort of flickers randomly

    ive disconnected the 24" monitor and it still flickers so doesnt seem to be that its overloading the graphics card!

    PROBLEM FIXED!!!! dont know what i did, just re-selected it and pow it worked :)
     
  5. Shademaster macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #5
    Sometimes refresh rates go awry. I had this problem one time when we connected my macpro to a Barco Huge A$$ cinema projector for a CG movie projection and after reconnecting it a couple of times it got the right Hz.

    Love my mac bro.
     
  6. sparkie1984 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Location:
    a small village near London
    #6
    thanks for the re-assurance!!!

    i was thinking surely the pro should be up to the job if people use mac mini's!
     
  7. Shademaster macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #7
    Don't want to sound fanboyish but at almost every business presentation I go, if there's a mac in the room people want to put their presentations on it because of it's hassle free ability to connect to almost any crappy beamer. :p
     

Share This Page