Ati radeon 5770 doesn't work on MacPro 2.1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by pb Inc, Jul 11, 2012.

  1. pb Inc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    #1
    Hi,
    I just installed a 5770 (radeon) in my MacPro 2.1 and all i get is a black screen.

    I tried 2 different monitors, with the 2 different connections, option-command-p-r (Pram reset), tried booting in lion 10.7.4, booting in Leopard, ... no go...

    My previous X1900 still works and boots like a charm...
    Anybody got some ideas to what else i can try?

    thanks in advance
    p.
     
  2. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #2
    Do you have your Mac pro to boot directly into the desktop or require a user/password be entered? If password required try setting your Pro to boot directly into the desktop. If I'm not mistaken the 2,1s won't show boot screens or login screens using anything greater than the 8800gts since they require GPUs with 32bit EFIs. Once at desktop tho it won't matter whether it had an EFIS at all. Someone can correct me if I'm wrong....
     
  3. peabo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #3
    I used a 5770 and 5780 in my 2,1 and had both boot & login screens. Maybe it's a PC card and not an Apple one though?
     
  4. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #4
    Please provide as much information as you can.

    Is it an official Apple card? If not, what is it and did you flash it?

    Do you have the 6-pin power cable connected to the card and motherboard?
     
  5. mustang_dvs macrumors 6502a

    mustang_dvs

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    #5
    5770 support requires 10.6.8 or later (unless that was a typo and you meant Snow Leopard)

    You're wrong. ;)

    A flashed PC 5770 won't show the boot screen, but the login window will appear just like on an Apple-branded 5770.
     
  6. pb Inc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    #6
    Hi thanks for the quick replies...

    My Mac boots directly to desktop in Lion 10.7.4 (latest version)
    My card was bought directly from Apple. (unless they are selling PC parts latley, I'm pretty shure its a Mac card) not flashed & yes it is connected to the motherboard.

    I'm afraid it is Leopard (not snow-L) that i have as a second drive-partition and as a third i have Bootcamp.

    Could the problem be Leopard? (i wil update it to Snow-Leopard and see what happens)
    I'm at work now, so will do tonight and post results

    thanks everyone for replying so fast, if you have other suggestions please do post..
     
  7. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #7
    Just a couple of suggestions.

    First, make sure your monitor(s) is(are) set to auto-detect an input.

    Second, you could try having both cards installed and connected to different monitors. You should at least get a picture from your old card and be able to debug the new one.

    Third, do you know anyone else with a Mac Pro? Try the card in theirs. Otherwise, get the Apple store to test the card for you.
     
  8. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
  9. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #9
    Sounds like a dead card to me. All the people saying you need Snow Leopard are wrong. That would only affect your Leopard partition. It wouldn't prevent the 5770 from working with your Lion partition and it wouldn't prevent the power-on screen.
     
  10. pb Inc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    #10
    Snow leopard indeed was a dead end...

    Did also install both the x1900 and 5770 and now i get a white screen!
    how cool is that!

    I'm thinking that the card is dead also... will see what apple support is like tomorrow...
     
  11. pb Inc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    #11
    Called Apple support, got a replacement.... now works like a charm!

    thanks all for your efforts!
     

Share This Page